Biren wins trust vote in Manipur

THE HANS INDIA |   Mar 21,2017 , 03:22 AM IST

(File Image):Nongthombam Biren Singh,
(File Image):Nongthombam Biren Singh,

Imphal: The BJP-led government on Monday won the floor test in Manipur Assembly with a voice vote. There was no division of votes in the exercises which saw the lone TMC MLA also supporting the Nongthombam Biren Singh government. 

The BJP has 21 MLAs in the 60-Member House. It has the support of four MLAs of Naga Peoples' Front (NPF), four of National People’s Party (NPP), the lone MLA of Lokjanshakti Party and Independent MLA Asab Uddin besides a Congress legislator who was inducted also in the Council of Ministers. 

Lone Trinamool Congress MLA T Robindro Singh also extended support to the BJP-led government although his party's central leadership alleged that he had "not consulted the party" over it. "I have extended support to the BJP after consulting the party's central leadership. 

I have neither violated the party's order nor have done anything against its interests. Whatever the party had asked me to do, I have done that," Singh said. 

Stay updated on the go with The Hans India News App. Click for Android / iOS download it for your device.