7 held for attack on TNSF leader

Update: 2019-04-16 21:14 GMT

Additional Superintendent of Police P Parameswar Reddy producing the accused before the media in Nellore city on Tuesday

Nellore: Nellore police apprehended seven persons in connection with the attack on Telugu Nadu Student Federation (TNSF) leader K Tirumala Naidu here on April 14. The accused are said to followers of Nellore Rural MLA Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy of YSRCP.

The accused were identified as B Vijaya Ramaraju, A Abhishek, Girish, A Venkatesh, Rajasekhar, A Siva Krishna, and Penchala Praveen Kumar Reddy. Additional superintendent of police P Parameswar Reddy, addressing the media at city DSP office on Tuesday, said that these seven persons, who plotted to eliminate TNSF district president Tirumala Naidu, were the followers of Sridhar Reddy.

"YSRC MLA Sridhar Reddy's aides thought that Tirumala Naidu had worked against the legislator during elections and hence they hatched a conspiracy to eliminate him. On April 14, they followed Tirumala Naidu in a vehicle (AP 26 AL 777) and attacked him with sticks and stones beating him up black and blue. The TNSF leader received severe injuries and was shifted to a local private hospital for treatment," said the Additional SP.

Balaji Nagar police registered a case and started investigation, Parameswar Reddy said while adding that they had deployed four teams to take the accused into custody. City DSP N B M Murali Krishna and others were present.

Comment here
Show comments

Similar News