MS Dhoni in IPL 2021
While CSK are set to play their ninth IPL final, it will be MS Dhoni’s 10th appearance in an IPL final.
CSK have a record qualifying for the final in four consecutive seasons – 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.
IPL 2008
Dhoni captained CSK to the final in IPL’s inaugural edition in 2008. However, CSK ended up losing to Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the final by 3 wickets at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.
IPL 2010, 2011
After missing out on the title in 2008, CSK went on to win two consecutive titles in 2010 and 2011. In IPL 2010 final, CSK defeated Mumbai Indians (MI) by 22 runs at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai.
IPL final in 2011 was played in CSK’s home ground, M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, where Dhoni and Co comfortably defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by 58 runs.
IPL 2012
Playing in their third straight IPL final, CSK could not claim a hat-trick of titles as they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets at their home ground of M. A. Chidambaram Stadium.
IPL 2013
CSK lost a second straight IPL final when they were beaten by Mumbai Indians (MI) by 23 runs at the Eden Gardens in the 2013 edition.
IPL 2015
IPL 2015 final was a repeat of 2013, including the result as MI defeated CSK by 41 runs at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata.
IPL 2017
While CSK were suspended for two years, Dhoni added another IPL final to his account, this time with Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS). Unfortunately, he suffered another defeat at the hands of MI, who bagged a close one-run win in the IPL 2017 final in Hyderabad.
IPL 2018
CSK returned after a gap of 2 years and so did Dhoni in Yellow. Dhoni marked CSK’s return by leading the side to their third IPL title as they defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.
IPL 2019
Playing a second consecutive IPL final, defending champions CSK once again lost to MI.