Hyderabad: The Lok Sabha has passed the Polavaram Ordinance Bill with the voice vote. The following are the seven mandals will be included in Andhra Pradesh: 

  • Kukkanur
  • Velerupadu
  • VR Puram
  • Chinthanur
  • Koonavaram
  • Bhadrachalam (excluding Bhadrachalam temple)
  • Burgampadu
A total of 211 village and 34 thousand families of this area will merge in Andhra Pradesh by this bill.


It is evident that amidst a strong opposition from the MPs of Telangana, Chattisgarh and Odisha, the bill on Polavaram Ordinance was passed in Lok Sabha with the voice vote. Later, the house was adjourned till 2 p.m. on Friday. In the Lok sabha, the TRS Party MP Vinod Kumar has strongly opposed the Bill presented by Union Home Minister concerning the inclusion of 7 Mandals of Submerged areas under the Polavaram project, on Friday. He reiterated that the ordinance was against the constitutional guarantees. He said that there was a need to seek the opinion of the states concerned, before changing the boundaries of any state. He said that moving a bill in Lok Sabha without taking the opinion of the states was illegal. It is worth mentioning here that the MPs of all the three states arrived at an amicable decision to oppose the move of passing the bill concerning the Polavaram Project. MPs of Odisha and Chattisgarh joined hands with TRS in their futile move.