APSFTTDCL chairman Ambika Krishna
APSFTTDCL chairman Ambika Krishna

Vijayawada: AP State Film, Television, Theatre Development Corporation Limited (APSFTTDCL) chairman Ambika Krishna announced the names of theatre personalities who will be felicitated on April 21 at Eluru to mark the 171 birth anniversary of Kandukuri Veeresalimgam Pantulu.

Addressing the media here on Monday, Krishna said three eminent personalities from the state who belongs to theatre art would be felicitated with the prestigious Kandukuri Theater Awards with a prize money of Rs one lakh each. He said that as many as five artistes from each district and 65 from across the state had been selected for district-level Kandukuri Puraskarams, he added.

Krishna said that theatre artistes Sunkara Rajashekara Prasad from Proddutur, Allam Ramchandra Rao from West Godavari district and Alapati Lakshmi, Vishakapatnam would receive  Kandukuri prestigious theatre state-level awards - 2018 along with a prize money of Rs one lakh for their contribution towards theatre.

Out of the 65 artists from all over the state, PVVSN Murthy, Madugula Ramakrishna, Adavi Shankar Rao, Adi Seshaiah and Lakshmi Karuna were selected from Krishna district in various categories in theatre. They would be given Rs 10,000 each on the occasion, he said.

These awards would be handed over to the winners on the stage of Nandi Natakotsavalu -2017 held in Eluru, he added.