Nine AP varsities get ‘A’ grade

Nine AP varsities get ‘A’ grade

Nine AP varsities get ‘A’ grade. Nine universities in Andhra Pradesh have been given ‘A’ grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) for the next two years.

Hyderabad: As many as nine universities in Andhra Pradesh have been given ‘A’ grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) for the next two years. Two central varsities- University of Hyderabad and Maulana Azad National Urdu University and three Deemed varsities- GITAM, IIIT-Hyderabad and Satya Sai Institute of Higher Learning, Puttaparthi were among these nine varsities.

The University of Hyderabad (UoH) topped the list with 3.89 Cumulative Grade Points Average (CGPA) and was re-accredited. This is the third time that the UoH has been graded among the top institutions with a CGPA of 3.89 out of 4 which denotes a status of ‘very good’.
The NAAC team led by Professor S P Thyagarajan had visited the UoH during January 8-11 for inspection.
Assessment and Accreditation is broadly used for understanding the "Quality Status" of an institution. In the context of Higher Education, the accreditation status indicates that the University meets the standards of quality set by the Accreditation Agency, in terms of an institution's performance related to the educational processes and outcomes, covering the curriculum, teaching-learning, evaluation, faculty research, infrastructure, learning resources, organisation, governance, financial well being and student services.
JNTU-Hyderabad, one of the leading technological universities in the country would have been in the very good list, had it not been trifurcated. It has two other subsidiary campuses at Kakinada and Anathapuram along with a host of colleges at Kadapa, Jagityala, Vizianagaram, Sulthanpur etc. Architecture University is also separately created.
Among the older universities, Nagarjuna at Guntur and Sri Krishna Devaraya at Ananthapuram have been way behind with B Grade and their performance on academic front is not up to the mark, according to a member of UGC. The Potti Sriramulu Telugu University, which has applied for NAAC accreditation for the first time last year, has been graded as B with 2.59 CPGA points.
The state universities at Srikakulam, Rajahmundry, Machilipatnam, Nellore, Kurnool, Kadapa, Mahbubnagar, Nizamabad and Nalgonda, which were started in 2008, will get a chance to apply for accreditation for the next academic year i.e. in 2014-15 only as they need to complete six years of existence. Same is the case with regard to NALSAR, Hyderabad, Damodaram Sanjivaiah Law Varsity, Visakhapatnam, three state-run IIITs at Basar, Nuzvid and Idupulapaya which work under RGUKT and YSR Horticulture varsity at Tadepalligudem.
The rest of other universities and institutes of higher learning- including EFLU have either not applied or not given accreditation. The Vignan’s Foundation for Science and Technology and Research at Vadlamudi in Guntur district- a Deemed University under Category C has applied for NAAC accreditation but the letter of intention was rejected.
Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories