Varsities should concentrate on next gen medical tech: ICMR D-G

THE HANS INDIA |   Sep 17,2018 , 06:05 PM IST

Director General, Indian Council of Medical Resarch Professor Balaram Bhargava addressing the participants at the 9th convocation of GITAM University in Visakhapatnam on Saturday.
Visakhapatnam: The 9th Convocation of the GITAM University was held here on Saturday. Prof. Balaram Bhargava, Director General, ICMR attended as chief guest at the convocation and delivered convocation address. On this occasion, he stressed the collective outputs with multiple disciplines. The professor called upon the doctors, engineers, nurses, professionals of various disciplines and even the class-four employees to sit together and discuss what are the needs and tools to bring an excellent outputs in their respective fields. 

He mentioned that to successfully implement government programs like Ayushman Bharat (National Health Protection Mission) the country need medical device innovations. The universities must concentrate on next generation of medical technology innovators who would in turn focus on invention and early stage development of low cost new medical technologies for the Indian population. 

"It will possible by generating innovative ideas through strong interaction with academia, clinicians and industry. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) presently working on such innovative projects in association with IIT Delhi. As far as the country health care needs were concerned, before 1980 large number of Indian patients moved out of country for bypass surgery and other medical needs but now the situation totally changed. The country is offering critical medical services to outside world, but at the same time we have to reach out to our fellow Indians who are located in north eastern states. The young graduates must think in the lines of Mahatma Gandhi to serve the society by way of innovative ideas," Professor Bhargava said. 

GITAM Chancellor Prof.K.Ramakrishna Rao presided over the convocation and mentioned that destroying the environment and depleting natural resources is also considered as violence. He said that Gandhian values of love, empathy, unselfishness, and commitment to what is believed to be true. He advised the graduates to follow the footsteps of Gandhi to lead the life with satisfaction and dignity and honour.

Vice-Chancellor, GITAM Prof.MS Prasada Rao in his annual report mentioned that the university has made considerable progress in Research and Development front in the last one year. He informed that the university was accorded with graded autonomy by University Grants Commission (UGC) for maintaining high standards in the field of higher education. He also touched upon all the other salient developments including publications, collaborations & collaborative research, awards, distinguished visitors, student activities, placement etc.

The university presented Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science (DSc.) to Professor (Dr.) Balaram Bhargava and Honorary Degree of Doctor of Letters (DLit.) to noted Telugu writer Peri Ravi Kumar. 
The university also honoured the faculty members Dr.S SPrasada Rao, Dr.R.Gyana Prasuna and Dr.YVV Satyanrayana with Best Researcher Award and Usha Gampala from science field received best Ph.D. thesis award. Total 26 graduates received GITAM President Gold Medals for their outstanding performance in academics. Several other medals and endowment awards were also distributed.

This year a total of 1995 students and scholars graduated, 1355 Engineering graduates (B. Tech. and M. Tech.), 285 Management, 180 Science, 75 Pharmacy, 40 B.Arch. 35 Law and 25 graduates from humanities and social science. Around 28 research scholars received their Ph.D. degrees during the convocation. It was the largest batch of students getting the graduating honour in the university’s history till date.

GITAM Vice-President Prof.M.Gangadhara Rao, Pro Vice-Chancellors Prof.K.Sivarama Krishna (Visakhapatnam campus), Prof.K.Siva Prasad (Hyderabad Campus) and Prof.Siva Pullaiah (Bengaluru Campus) and Board of Management Members Dr.Ravi Raj, Prof.V.Bala Mohandas and others participated in the convocation ceremony.

Next Article

AI system helps track mysterious cosmic signals