Ranji Trophy: Karnataka restrict Jharkhand

Ranji Trophy: Karnataka restrict Jharkhand

Ranji Trophy: Karnataka Restrict Jharkhand

Mysore: Seamer Srinath Arvind marked his return to the Karnataka squad by taking three wickets for 45 as the hosts restricted Jharkhand to 214 for five on the opening day of the four-day Group A Ranji Trophy league match here Thursday.

Ranji Trophy: Karnataka restrict Jharkhand
For Jharkhand, who were asked to bat first, opener Rameez Nemat (68, 166b, 8x4) and No.4 Saurabh Tiwary (43 not out, 94b, 5x4, 1x6) were the main scorers even as Karnataka struck at regular intervals.

Nemat and Bhavik Thaker (36) put on 92 runs for the second wicket after Arvind removed Akash Verma (13). Left-arm spinner KP Appanna removed both Nemat and Thaker while Arvind sent back Ishank Jaggi (14) to leave Jhakhand at 156 for four.

Tiwary and SP Gautam (16) retrieved the situation by adding 58 runs for the fifth wicket before Arvind had the latter caught behind, at which stage the stumps were drawn for the day.

Brief scores:

Group A
At Mysore: Jharkhand (1st innings) 214/5 in 87.1 overs (Rameez Nemat 68, Bhavik Thaker 36, Saurabh Tiwary 43 batting, Srinath Arvind 3/45, KP Appanna 2/39) vs Karnataka.

At Chandigarh: Mumbai 207/5 in 71 overs (Jaffer 92 not out, Yadav 44; Kaul 2/40) vs Punjab.

At Surat: Gujarat 281/7 in 90 overs (Venugopal Rao 107, Juneja 50; Narwal 5/56) vs Delhi.

At Nagpur: Haryana 235/4 in 90 overs (Sunny Singh 101 not out, Barot 64; Ruikar 1/42, Wagh 1/46) vs Vidarbha.

Group B
At Baroda: Uttar Pradesh 291/9 in 89.4 overs (Raina 123; Bhatt 5/98, Patel 4/74) vs Baroda.

At Indore: Tamil Nadu 294/3 in 90 overs (Badrinath 126 not out, Aparajith 118; Pandey 1/57) vs Madhya Pradesh.

At Delhi: Saurashtra 88/4 in 46 overs (Vasavada 44 not out; Anureet Singh 3/24) vs Raliways.

At Jaipur: Rajasthan 222/6 in 87 overs (Saxena 110 not out, Bist 44; Paul 2/41, Lahiri 2/24) vs Bengal.

Group C
At Agartala: Tripura 141 all out (Dey 66; Malik 5/37, Dhawan 4/32) vs Himachal Pradesh.

At Guwahati: Assam 181/5 in 90 overs (Roy 85 not out, Tarjinder Singh 41; Shinde 3/49) vs Hyderabad.

At Srinagar: Goa 281/8 in 90 overs (Desai 71, Vaz 99; Dayal 3/66) vs Jammu and Kashmir.

At Kannur: Kerala 236/4 in 90 overs (Samson 115; Vijaykumar 2/34) vs Andhra.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories