Phil Mickelson with the trophy
Phil Mickelson with the trophy

Mexico City: Five-time major winner Phil Mickelson seized his first title in nearly five years on Sunday as he edged Justin Thomas in a playoff to win the WGC Mexico Championship. 

Mickelson, who hadn`t won since his victory at the Open Championship at Muirfield in 2013, parred the first playoff hole, the par-three 17th at Club de Golf Chapultepec, where Thomas missed the green and was unable to get up and down for par.

The 24-year-old Thomas, one of the hottest young stars in golf and the reigning US PGA Tour Player of the Year, was coming off a victory at the Honda Classic last week. He made six birdies and holed out from the fairway for an eagle at the 18th for a closing seven-under 64 that put him atop the leader-board on 16-under 268.

Meanwhile, Young Indian golfer and overnight leader Shubhankar Sharma stumbled in the fourth and final round and carded a three-over 74 to finish tied ninth. 

The 21-year-old, who held a two-stroke lead coming into Sunday's final round, bogeyed five holes on the fifth, 13th, 14th, 17th, 18th as he birdied the 12th and 16th holes for a 74 at the Club de Golf Chapultepec.