A jubilant Oakridge International Under-13 team with the Champions Cup

A jubilant Oakridge International Under-13 team with the Champions Cup

Hyderabad: Oakridge Gachibowli, Aga Khan Academy, Sreenidhi International emerged Champions in Under-13, 15 and 18 categories of the 2nd Edition of School Football League Finals held on Sunday at Sreenidhi International, Near Appa Junction in the city outskirts.

In a closely fought Under-13 battle, Oakridge Gachibowli defeated Future Kids 2-1. The Under-15 showdown proved to be a one-sided game with Aga Khan Academy sealing hands down win against Future Kids. Aga Khan Academy scored four goals while their opponents failed in their efforts to break their deadlock.

In Under-18 category Sreenidhi International School were crowned champions after they finished on top with highest points while Golconda Government School lifted the Premier Cup, a press release said.

Sreenidhi International School and Oakridge International School Gachibowli bagged Premier Cup under 13 and 15years categories respectively. They defeated their rivals Aga Kahn and Golconda Govt School by 2-0 and 2-1 goals respectively to emerge victorious. 

Government Schools—DRF Kallam Anji Reddy Vidyalaya (under-13) and Karwan Govt (under-15) bagged the Shield Cups. They defeated their opponents Future Kids School and Sreenidhi Government respectively.

In Under-18, players Sahil of Aga Khan bagged the Gold Glove, Kalyan of Sreenidhi International—Golden Boot and Dhru from Sreenidhi International was named the Player of the Tournament. 

In Under-15, Varshith of Future Kids received Golden Glove; Ayaan of Aga Khan - Golden Boot and Abil from Aga Khan received the Player of Tournament. 

Harsha of Oakridge Bachupally presented Golden Glove; Rusheel of Ganges Vally Golden Boot and Krishnan of Future Kids Player of the Tournament. 

Uttam, Vishal, Koushik, Hammad, Praveen Mohan, Rehan, Saud, Akshaj, Amay, Milind, Raghav, Devashish, J.L. Karthik, Tanuj, Saad, Dhruv, Tarun. Aamil, Venkat, Vikram, Aprajith Reddy, Shebaz, Sisir, Lakshya, Vineet, Omar Farooq and Anij, Syed Ikramuddin, Rahil, Vijith, Panjuani were honored as Star Players of the Team among all the different age categories. 

Dr. K T Mahhe chairman of Sreenidhi Education Group and chairman of Telangana Football Association and Padmaja Penmetsa, Life Coach and Chief People Officer at Open Minds, guest of honour, Fabio Fernandez, football coach; Atif Hyder, Ananth Tejo, Directors of Hyderabad Football Academy graced the occasion and presented the trophies to the winners. 

The league matches were conducted for the last two and a half months. 35 boys team participated and played 160 matches to reach the final. 850 football players from 21 schools have participated in the Second Edition of Football League. 

12 teams qualified to play the finals. Finals were held at on Saturday and Sunday. These final teams include Future kids, Pudami Karvy, Sreenidhi Government, Karwan Govt. Aga Khan, Sreenidhi International, Golconda Government, Oakridge Gachibowli and others.

Each of these teams had played ten to twelve matches in the league level over the last two months to reach the final. The top two teams competed for Champions Trophy, next two for Premier Cup and subsequent two for Player’s Shield informed Himanshu Charan Director of School Football League. 

“Hyderabad is a Football Power House. The city has produced 14 Olympians and 21 international football players,” said Dr. K.T. Mahhe, Telangana Football Association addressing the 200 plus young footballers just before presenting the trophies. 

“Play with passion, dignity, and sportsmanship. These will be building blocks for your personal growth,” he advised them. Padmaja Penmetsa told footballers to get better in their sport. It is wonderful to see football growing especially in a place that is dominated by cricket, she added 

Hyderabad Football Academy and Kerala Blasters FC were the co-presenters of the SFL. SFL is designed so well keeping in mind a comprehensive match experience for the players.

The matches are held only in three categories, under 13, 15 and 18years SFL is, Ananth Tejo adds “is one of its kind tournament.” SFL is the only league to have school from all curriculums IB, ICSE, CBSE, SSE including private, international and government schools.  SFL is the dedicated league that too for Football, which is considered as a poor man’s sport and above all in league format is hard to find.

Next Article

Sri Chaitanya School No.1 in India in KAT Olympiad