Sandra Venkata Veeraiah during his poll campaign
Sandra Venkata Veeraiah during his poll campaign

Sattupalli: The sitting MLA Sandra Venkata Veeraiah emerged as TDP party champion in Telangana by winning the Sattuapalli assembly segment for third consecutive time.

Sandra defeated TRS party nominee Pidamarthi Ravi with a margin of 19,002 votes. Sattupalli Assembly constituency is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) in 2009 and is one of the five Assembly constituencies present in Khammam district. It is spread across Sattupalli, Penuballi, Kallur, Tallada and Vemsoor mandals.

TDP won the assembly seat five times and Congress four times since 1978. R&B Minister Tummala Nageswara Rao represented it thrice. The Constituency has been witnessing rapid industrial development in view of coal mining activity by the SCCL, besides abundant oil palm plantations.

The works related to Rs.110 crore Mega Food Park at Buggapadu for which TSIIC is the nodal agency are also under progress. In 1978 assembly elections, former Chief Minister Jalagam Vengala Rao, contesting on Congress ticket, defeated noted people’s poet Kaloji Narayana Rao, who contested on Janata Party ticket by a margin of 22,619 votes.

Sanda Venkata Veeraiah said that the commitment and dedication shown towards development of constituency during his tenure of 10 years as MLA along with being available for the people round the clock registered him victory for the third consecutive time. He expressed thanks to the people who supported him and elected him as MLA having faith in him. He assured them that he would meet up to their expectations.

Next Article

More coral species found in deeper regions of Great Barrier Reef