Another shot at Man Booker

Renowned author Salman Rushdie's yet-to-be-published 'Quichotte' enters 2019 Man Booker longlist…

British Indian novelist Salman Rushdie's yet-to-be-published novel 'Quichotte' has made it to the longlist of this year's Man Booker Prize.

Rushdie has earlier won the Booker in 1981 for 'Midnight's Children'.

Canadian writer Margaret Atwood, who had earlier bagged the award in 2000 for 'Blind Assassins', is another former winner on the list. Her 2019 nominated work, 'The Testaments', is a sequel to her acclaimed book 'The Handmaid's Tale'.

This year's list was chosen from 151 novels published in the UK or Ireland between October 1, 2018 and September 30, 2019.

Established in 1969, the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, awards writers of any nationality, writing in English and published in the UK or Ireland, and carries a cash prize of 50,000 pound along with a specially bound edition of the winner's book.

The shortlist of six books will be announced on September 3, and the 2019 winner will be finally announced on October 14.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories