Congress optimistic of People’s Front win

Congress optimistic of People’s Front win

The Congress party leaders exuded confidence that the candidates of Peoples Front would win majority of the constituencies, after the end of the polling on Friday

Hyderabad: The Congress party leaders exuded confidence that the candidates of People’s Front would win majority of the constituencies, after the end of the polling on Friday.

They said that the People’s Front would win 66 to 72 seats and added that the State was relieved from the clutches of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS). They said that the People’s Front government would fulfil the dreams of the people.

Addressing the media, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) treasurer Gudur Narayana Reddy thanked the people for voting in favour of the alliance parties. He said that the police have shown over enthusiasm in supporting the TRS. Even though the Congress cadres have maintained restraint, he added.

He said that the TRS had failed to prevent the Congress from coming to power. He said that the workers of the party should take care of spare EVMs with the officials as there was a danger of the TRS using them to change the results during the counting.

Former MP V Hanumantha Rao said that the TRS had gone to early polls without fulfilling the promises it had made. He said that students of Osmania and Kakatiya Universities have gone to the villages and campaigned against the TRS party.

He said that the campaign of Rahul Gandhi, Chandrababu Naidu and others attracted the masses. He said that people have questioned the TRS’ decision to go for early polls.

He alleged that names of hundreds of voters have been deleted and this was a pre-planned action. The Congress would implement all the promises it has made to the people, he added.

On the other hand, three Congress candidates have been allegedly attacked by other parties cadre. Party candidate Vamsichand Reddy from Kalwakurthy, KS Ratnam from Chevella, and Rohin Reddy of Tandur were attacked.

Vamsichand sustained injuries and was taken to Nizams Institute of Medical Sciences for treatment. Ratnam was attacked by the TRS cadre at a polling booth in the afternoon. Rohin Reddy was attacked by his rivals.

Leaders of the party, from village to State level, have strived hard to motivate the voters to go to the polling booths to cast their votes. Most of the seniors of TPCC confined themselves to their respective constituencies. The TPCC leaders led by treasurer Gudur Narayana Reddy closely observed the polling from morning through the Command Control Centre. They have taken the issues to the notice of CEO.

TPCC president N Uttam Kumar Reddy, former LOP in Assembly K Jana Reddy, LOP in Council Shabbir Ali, TPCC campaign committee chairman M Bhatti Vikramarka, working presidents Revanth Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar, former Ministers P Laxmaiah, Geetha Reddy, DK Aruna, Sunitha Reddy, Sabitha Reddy and others remained in their respective constituencies.

They have toured the constituencies and observed the polling pattern. Local leaders have been given suggestions to ensure casting of good number of votes in favour of the Congress and other Front candidates.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories