TDP, BJP stuck on 3 LS seats

BJP wants two of three seats of Vijayawada, Vizag and Rajahmundry

  • TDP offers BJP 45 Assembly, 8 LS seats in T
  • 12 Assembly, 3 LS seats in Seemandhra
  • Deal to be sealed today

TDP, BJP stuck on 3 LS seatsHyderabad: The talks between the TDP and the BJP are learnt to have been sealed. Both sides were now busy working out the nitty-gritty of the broad understanding they had arrived at and a final announcement was likely to be made on Wednesday.

According to BJP leaders the TDP has agreed to give 45 Assembly seats and eight Lok Sabha seats in Telangana region. In Seemandhra, the BJP will be given 3 to 4 Lok Sabha seats and 12 Assembly seats. The TDP is understood to have agreed to leave Rajampet, Narsapuram and Tirupati Lok Sabha seats for the BJP. But the BJP is insisting on any two of the three Lok Sabha seats -- Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada and Rajahmundry. The TDP, however, is opposed to this proposal. It has promised Vijayawada seat to its senior leader Kesineni Nani. TDP claims that the party is very strong in that constituency and hence cannot concede the demand of the BJP.

From Seemandhra region TDP senior party leaders like Y Ramakrishnudu, K Narayana and Sujana Chowdary participated in the discussions with BJP leaders. From Telangana region TDP leader E Dayakar Rao was present during the talks.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories