Heartbreak for India

Heartbreak for India

India made a spirited fightback in the second half but failed to earn a direct berth in next year’s hockey World Cup as they lost the...

Korea retain Asia Cup

Ipoh (PTI) India made a spirited fightback in the second half but failed to earn a direct berth in next year’s hockey World Cup as they lost the high-scoring summit clash 3-4 to defending champions South Korea, in Ipoh on Sunday. The Indians, who are virtually assured of a place in the game’s showpiece event to be held at The Hague, Netherlands, needed to win the eight-nation tournament to secure a direct entry in the World Cup. Korea’s fourth title win means Malaysia are certain to return to the World Cup after a gap of 12 years.

The Indians will now have to wait till the conclusion of the Oceania Cup in November, in which either Australia and New Zealand is expected to win, for the official confirmation of their participation from the FIH. Both Australia and New Zealand have already made it to the World Cup through the FIH World League. The Koreans scored through Jang Jong Hyun (28th minute), You Hyo Sik (29th), Nam Hyun Woo (57th) and Kang Moon Kweon (68th). For India, Rupinderpal Singh (48th), Nikkin Thimmaiah (57th) and Mandeep Singh (64th) were the goal-getters.

However, it was a great show by a young and inexperienced Indian team considering the fact that the country finished a lowly seventh in the last edition of the event in 2009. Korea’s game was all about putting the Indian defence under pressure through counter-attacks. The Indian defence was tested by the quick, nimble-footed Koreans from the beginning as goalkeeper P R Sreejesh made a valiant double save in the 21st minute to keep a clean slate.

Soon India had their first scoring opportunity through their first penalty corner but V R Raghunath’s flick was blocked by a Korean defender. In the 26th minute Nithi Thimmaiah had a good chance of giving India the lead but his reverse hit from close range went wide. Korea soon earned their first penalty corner and tournament’s top—scorer Jang Jong Hyun made no mistake, converting the set piece with a variation. A minute later Korea stunned India again when You Hyo Sik tapped home from Nam Hyun Woo’s cross from the left flank to go into the breather with a morale-boosting 2-0 lead.

The Indians, however, made a strong comeback and put the Korean defence under continuous pressure with repeated raids. But goals eluded India till the 47th minute as Korea defended in numbers. India pulled one back in the 48th minute from their second penalty corner which was perfectly converted by Rupinder to bring smiles back on the faces of the Indian crowd present at the stadium. The goal lifted India’s spirit as they went for relentless attacks and finally managed to reduce parity through young Nikkin Thimmaiah.

Nikkin scored in the 54h minute with a fierce reverse hit from top of the circle after receiving a pass from Manpreet Singh. But India’s joy was short-lived as Korea regained their lead three minutes later. The Koreans were awarded a penalty stroke after an Indian defender blocked Nam Hyun Woo’s dragflcik with the body from their third short corner. Nam Hyn Woo stepped up to take the penalty and calmly foxed Sreejesh under the Indian goal to make the scoreline 3-2 in their favour.

The Indians thereafter pressed hard for the equaliser and seven minutes from the final whistle got a great chance but an unmarked Ramdeep Singh faltered as he hit the ball over with only the Korean goalkeeper Lee Myung Ho to beat. Indian efforts bore fruit in the 64th minute when young striker Mandeep found himself at the right position at the right moment to send one inside the net from a Birendra Lakra cross.

But some sloppy defending from Dharamvir Singh and Rupinder resulted in Korea’s third penalty corner and Kang Moon Kweon made no mistake with the chance shattering the hopes of Indian supporters present at the stadium. Apart from the runners-up trophy, India’s P R Sreejesh was adjudged the best goalkeeper of the tournament, while V R Raghunath was selected as the most outstanding player. Meanwhile, Pakistan finished third after defeating Malaysia 3-1 in the play-off.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories