Top

Stop Google Maps From Tracking You All Over You Go

Stop Google Maps From Tracking You All Over You Go
x
Highlights

Now there is an option to automatically delete your location data from Google’s servers after a preset amount of time.

ADVERTISEMENT

Nowadays Google Maps is sharing a yearly report, telling about how many kilometres and the places we have travelled so far in 2019. If the Google Maps are not configured properly, it will automatically keep a detailed log of everywhere you go, whether you're walking, driving or even flying anywhere in the world. It's detailed down to the minute and can show where you were at any moment in time. But there is a way to delete it automatically.

This information can be helpful for you sometime, and you may want to check where you went during the last trip. Or sometimes you might want Google to know how long it usually takes to drive to a place you visit often. Still, it's weird to have data stores for years together on Google's servers.

Here's an example of data that I received from Google recently:


But, now Google has started rolling out a feature that allows you to automatically delete your saved location date either every three months or 18 months. Anything older than this time limit gets automatically deleted, so Google won't know about those stops you made in Hyderabad last year.

Strangely, it's not where Google usually puts this setting on your Google Account page. As an alternative, you need to check through your settings in Google Maps.

Follow these simple steps:

• Open Google Maps on iPhone or Android.

• Tap the menu bar on the top-left of the app.

• Choose "Your Timeline."

• Tap the three dots on the top-right of the screen.

• Select "Settings and privacy."

• Choose "Automatically delete location history."

• Modify the setting from "Keep until I delete manually" to "Keep for 18 months" or "Keep for three months."

It is recommended to impose Google to delete the data every three months. There isn't much needed to store your history for longer than that, though you have an option of selecting 18 months if you want. Now, anything older than the time you set will automatically be deleted and will continue to be removed by Google as time goes on.


Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories