Mumbai Indians are 2013 CLT20 champs

Mumbai Indians are 2013 CLT20 champs

Mumbai Indias Beat Rajasthan Royals By 33 Runs, Lifted Second CLT20 Title. A magnificent four-wicket haul by Harbhajan Singh gave Mumbai India its...

Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh and Dinesh Karthik celebrate as Mumbai Indians regain CLT20 trophy beating Rajasthan Royals in the finals in New Delhi on Sunday.

A magnificent four-wicket haul by Harbhajan Singh gave Mumbai India its second Champions League Twenty20 Trophy at Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium here on Sunday.

The IPL VI winners defeated Rajasthan Royals by 36 runs after dismissing them for 169 in 18.5 overs. Mumbai Indians had managed 202 for the loss of six wickets in their innings.

Mumbai Indians lift second CLT20 title

Harbhajan Singh struck crucial breakthroughs, including scalping the dangerous Shane Watson after Pragyan Ojha gave them huge relief by removing Sanju Samson. Samson led from the front as he notched up 23-ball fifty to keep Royals on track. Samson smashed four fours and as many sixes during his swashbuckling knock. Ajinkya Rahane continued his red hot form smashing yet another fifty to lead Royals after the dismissal of Samson.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians batsmen fired in unison to post a massive 202 for six against a hapless attack. After a solid start by opener Dwayne Smith (44) and a valuable 33 off 14 balls by skipper Rohit Sharma in the middle, Glenn Maxwell’s 14-ball 37 cameo in the end took the IPL champions past 200-run mark. This was the highest total for the Mumbai Indians in the Champions League Twenty20. It was a team effort with Maxwell adding 41 runs for the sixth wicket with Dinesh Kartik (15 not out) in 2.2 overs towards the fag end.

For the Royals, Pravin Tambe was the only impressive bowler with figures of 4-0-19-2.

Put in to bat by Rajasthan Royals, the in-form opener Smith gave Mumbai Indians a perfect start, hitting a six over deep mid—wicket in the third ball of the very first over to set the tone.

Mumbai Indians lift second CLT20 title

The other opener, Tendulkar, who is playing his final Twenty20 match, took an over to get settled down before he opened up. He started off with a four in James Faulkner’s over, a perfectly timed cover drive. The 40-year-old right handed batsman then followed it up with two successive boundaries in the first two deliveries off Shane Watson.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories