TRS stands tall in Mahbubnagar, Nagarkurnool

TRS stands tall in Mahbubnagar, Nagarkurnool

After the conclusion of final counting of Parliamentary elections in erstwhile Mahbubnagar district,

Mahbubnagar: After the conclusion of final counting of Parliamentary elections in erstwhile Mahbubnagar district, the TRS party has won both the Parliamentary constituencies of Nagarkuirnool and Mahbubnagar with a thumping majority on Thursday.

In Nagarkurnool, TRS contestant Potuganti Ramulu had created a record of sorts by winning with a thumping majority of 1,89,015 votes.

This is for the first time that an SC candidate representing the constituency had won with such a huge majority in the history of the constituency since its inception.

While in Mahbubnagar district, the TRS contestant, Manne Srinivas Reddy, a new face and a known businessman, also won with a considerable majority of 78,120 votes and defeated BJP's DK Aruna who gave a tough competition to the TRS party.

Overall, out of 20 rounds, TRS party candidate got 4,11,240 votes while Aruna got 3,33,121 votes after the final 20th round of counting. Congress contestant Dr Vamshichand stood in the third place with 1,93, 513 votes polled in favour of him.

Overall, among the 12 contestants for the Mahbubnagar parliamentary constituency, out of over 10 lakh votes polled, the major parties of TRS, BJP and Congress parties got the major share of votes.

While the remaining independent candidates could not even earn more than 40,000 votes cumulatively, around 10,000 votes were polled under NOTA category.

Under Mahbubnagar Parliamentary constituencies, there are seve assembly constituencies which include Mahbubnagar, Jadcehrla, Devarkadra, Makthal, Narayanpet, Kodangal and Shadnagar. Speaking about the results, Aruna said that these results were a slap on the face of TRS party chief K Chandrashekar Rao.

"The BJP has given a tough fight, though technically we may have lost in Mahbubngar, but we have won morally against TRS party's hegemony. We will now confront the TRS party's corrupt and anti-people policies in the State," said Aruna.

In Nagarkurnool, apart from Potuganti Ramulu from TRS, Mallu Ravi from Congress and Bangaru Swathi from BJP contested the polls.

After the results started trickling in, Ramulu had displayed a clear majority in each and every round.

After the final conclusion of the counting, the TRS candidate had created a record by winning with a thumping majority of 1,89,015 votes against Congress candidate Mallu Ravi.

In fact, the Nagarkurnool constituency is reserved for SC category and it is for the first time in the history since the inception of Nagarkurnool constituency that a candidate has won with such a record majority.

Overall, 1,936 EVMs were opened for the counting from all the seven constituencies in Nagarkurnool. Except in Alampur constituency, during the 21st round of counting where the EVMs failed to open due to technical glitch, the officials opened the VVPATs and counted the slips and declared the results.

Overall, 799 postal ballots were counted, of them TRS got 244, Congress 192 and BJP got 335 and four opted for NOTA and 46 votes were declared uncounted.

While Ramulu was polled with 4,95,480 votes, Dr Mallu Ravi of Congress got 3,06,465 and the third major contestant from BJP Bangaru Sruthi secured 1,28,126 votes.

Apart from the three major contestants of TRS, Congress and the BJP, another notable candidate was B Yusuf from BSP who got 12,399 votes in Nagarkurnool.

Overall, out of the 22 rounds of counting, the cumulative votes polled to all candidates in Nagarkurnool was 9,80,990. Of these, about 13,431 voters favoured NOTA.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories