UoH team winners at Smart India Hackathon 2019

UoH team winners at Smart India Hackathon 2019UoH team winners at Smart India Hackathon 2019

Hyderabad: The University of Hyderabad (UoH) team from the School of Computer Sciences named Galileo Figaro...

Hyderabad: The University of Hyderabad (UoH) team from the School of Computer Sciences named Galileo Figaro are winners in the Software-Web App Development at Smart India Hackathon 2019 (SIH-2019). The team consisted of Soham Dutta, V Nandini Soni, Gaurav, Shivam Gangwar, Mridul Jain and Abhishek Verma from MCA.

The MHRD, AICTE, i4C, Persistent Systems and Rambhau Mhalgi Prabohini had proposed the 3rd edition of Smart India Hackathon 2019 (SIH-2019). This had 2 sub-editions – Software as well as Hardware. In SIH 2019, the students had the opportunity to work on challenges faced within the private sector organisations and create world class solutions for some of the top companies in the world, thus helping the Private sector hire the best minds from across the nation. Software Edition had 36-hour software product development competition. The Hardware Edition will be a hackathon where teams will be working for 5 straight days and build their hardware solutions.

The team was given the Problem Statement: Alternative of traditional credential based authentication proposed by KG Infosystem Pvt. Ltd. Problem focuses the team to build an alternate to the traditional authentication system of username and password.

The team brainstormed and arrived at a solution with an efficient approach by targeting the audience without remembering the credentials and also be the master of their own credentials. This proposed approach is decentralise, serverless and also suits the demands by the KG Inforsystem Pvt Ltd.,

The members started working with this problem prior to the grand finale event and implemented the piece of code. They got an opportunity to carry piece of code to complete the final product at the grand finale event and implemented the solution by using NodeJS.

The UoH team participated in IIT Roorkee (Nodal Centre) and the mentors who accompanied the students were Dr YV Subba Rao and Dr Anjaneya Swami Kare. The Grand Finale of Smart India Hackathon was held on March2-3.

There were 28 teams comprising seven different problem statements. Out of which four teams (including the team from UoH) worked for the same problem statement given by KG Infosystem Pvt Ltd.

The dignitaries present at the finale were: Prakash Javadekar, Minister of HRD, Government of India, Chief Patron, SIH 2019, Prof Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman, AICTE Chairman, SIH 2019, Dr Anand Deshpande, Chairman and MD, Persistent Systems, Co-Chairman, Organising Committee, SIH 2019. (Through Video Conferencing) and Chairman – IIT-Roorkee.

There were 3 training rounds and 3 evaluation rounds. The training rounds comprised personnel from the industry (KG Infosystem Pvt. Ltd.) and the session happened after every 12 hours with valid inputs from the mentors and the industry people. Three evaluation rounds were conducted to know the progress and improvements of the delivered product for the problem statement.

The proposals submitted by the University of Hyderabad were uploaded on SIH 201 portal by Dr K Swarupa Rani. All proposals were submitted by students of School of Computer and Information Sciences. Seven different teams with 10 ideas (proposals) were uploaded comprising 42 students in Software Edition.

One team comprising of six students uploaded the proposal in Hardware Edition. The Hardware edition Hackathon event procedure and selection will be scheduled in the month of May 2019.

Show Full Article
More Stories