YSRCP, TDP in intense battle

YSRCP, TDP in intense battle

YSRCP, TDP in Intense Battle, The district being one of backward zones in the State, issues relating to the State’s bifurcation are likely to impact the results.

The fate of many senior politicians, including APCC president N Raghuveera Reddy and Sake Sailajanath and the image of Nandmuri Balakrishna are at stake in Anantapur district. Despite emergence of YSRCP as a formidable contender, TDP is hopeful of improving its tally. Though many Assembly segments are witnessing a triangular fight, the real contest is between YSRCP and TDP. The district being one of backward zones in the State, issues relating to the State’s bifurcation are likely to impact the results.

YSRCP, TDP in Intense Battle

Tadipatri : Tadipatri is being looked upon as the pocket borough of J C brothers. For a major part of his innings Diwakar Reddy was a minister holding important portfolios. In a calculated move, his brother Prabhakar Reddy joined TDP much before. As Tadipatri municipal chairman, he could make a name for himself, both positive and negative.

The brothers are known for their clout and resource management. Though TDP chief N Chandrababau Naidu hesitated to induct them into the party because of the strong opposition from the cadre, especially the old guard, he found it to be an affordable initiative to reconsolidate the party, following desertions by some local leaders. Prabhakar Reddy, TDP nominee is expected to win hands down. The YSRCP and Congress have fielded V R Ram Reddy and Viswanadha Reddy respectively.

Hindupur : All eyes are on Nandamuri Balakrishna, the TDP candidate. A high voltage campaign is on with focus on himself. But, as party circles put it, he is still a half politician. His approach to the campaign is filmy. Yet he has the upper hand. Balaiah’s wife Vasundhara, daughters Brahmani and Tejaswini, in the thick of campaign are getting overwhelming response in colonies. Naveen Nischal (YSRCP) is going all out to limit TDP to its old strongholds. He attacks Balakrishna calling him a seasonal visitor. Inaitullah (Cong) is lagging far behind.

Penukonda : APCC president N Raghuveera Reddy is leaving no stone unturned to win. He is fighting with his back to the wall. Though he won from Madakasira in 2009, he moved to Penukonda hoping support from certain TDP sections. But in the changed circumstances, no help is forthcoming. His supporters and loyalists area getting lukewarm response in the door-to-door campaign. B K Parthasaradhi (TDP), sitting MLA., continues to have the advantage. Shankara Narayana (YSRCP) is giving a tough fight.

Rapthadu : Paritala Sunita is hopeful, but it is not going to be easy. Twin factors are giving her a slight edge. She commands the electorate in Ramagiri mandal of which her native village Venkatapuram is a part. Diwakar Reddy joining TDP has added to its advantage in Ramagiri mandal where he enjoys considerable clout .T Prakash reddy (YSRCP) and Ramana Reddy (Cong) have stepped up their campaign.

Uravakonda : Telugu Desam politburo member Payyavula Keshav is pitted against Y Visveswar Reddy (YSRCP) and P Siva (Cong). Reddy had lost twice. This generated sympathy for him. A complaint against Payyavula is that he is unable to devote much time to the constituency. His brother Srinivas takes care of it. P siva is the Congress nominee.

Singanamala (SC) : Jonnalagadda Padmavati (YSRCP) is in advantage. Her name was declared well in advance. She has the early bird advantage in campaigning. Former Minister Sake Sailajanath was in a dilemma till the last minute over contesting on Congress ticket. Yamini Bala (TDP), a former mandal education officer, is daughter of TDP MLC Shamantakamani.

Anantapur Urban : Bodimalla Gurunath Reddy (YSRCP) is in advantage. Prabhakar Chodhury(TDP) is yet to pacify the Balija leaders who are sulking over denial of ticket for the aspirants. Shifting of loyalties by Mahalakshmi Srinivas from TDP to YSRCP is attributed to Prabhakar. The TDP is trying to reach out to the disillusioned sections by assuring them of a fair deal in future. Gurunath Reddy won in 2009 with a huge majority and repeated the feat in 2012 by-election. Govinda Reddy is the Congress nominee.

Kalyanadurgam : The outcome can favour either TDP or YSRCP. The margins are likely to be wafer thin between Hanumantaraya Chowdhury (TDP) and Tippeswamy (YSRCP), a Boya leader with a god following among BCs and weaker sections. Support to the Anantapur Lok Sabha candidate Ananta Venkatarami Reddy will matter much for Tippeswamy.

Rayadurgam : Kalva Srinivasulu (TDP) is considered a non-local. His affinity with the constituency and its people is less. A TDP aspirant Deepak Reddy was left disappointed with the party choice. He is more or less away from the campaign. Kapu Ramachandra Reddy (YSRCP) has advantage. Vaddi Chinnappa (Cong) is also in the fray.

Madkasira : Tiipeswamy (YSRCP) is a new entrant. The party is lacking strong leadership in the segment where former Minister N Raghuveera Reddy emerged all important. M Veeranna (TDP), a businessman with clout, is expected to have advantage. It is going to be a tough fight. The victory margins could be only in three digits.

Puttaparthy : Palle Raghunath Reddy, the sitting MLA, is a man of the masses. Hence he continued to have advantage. Somasekhar Reddy (YSRCP) has been making all-out efforts to wrest the seat promising the electorate basic amenities and development of the town. K. Adinarayana is the Congress party nominee.

Dharmavaram : A keen tussle is on between K Venkatrami Reddy (YSRCP) and V Suri (TDP). Aswadhanarayana (Cong) is giving a good fight. The three parties have been preaching development mantra. The TDP is hopeful of making it with the support of BCs.

Kadiri : Chandbasha (TSRCP) is in advantage with minorities fully backing the party. K Prasad (TDP) may not get the support of Muslims who have predominant presence in Kadiri mandal Sriram Naiak is the Congress candidate.

Guntakal : Y Venkatrami Reddy (YSRCP) is in advantage. The TDP has offered the seat to BJP, but Venkatramaiah (TDP) continues to be in the fray affecting the ties in the district. Prabhakar is the Congress party nominee.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories