Kukatpally: Constituency profile

Kukatpally: Constituency profile

Kukatpally: Constituency profile. As incumbent MLA Dr Jayaprakash Narayan has opted to contest from Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency, the Lok Satta...

Settlers, IT professionals hold the key

As incumbent MLA Dr Jayaprakash Narayan has opted to contest from Malkajgiri Lok Sabha constituency, the Lok Satta Party has fielded its state president Katari Srinivasa Rao in Kukatpally. Though Dr Jayaprakash won with 34 per cent vote share and18,000 votes, he failed to develop the party cadre in the constituency. This would hurt the party chances of retaining the seat to an extent.

Touted as the largest constituency in terms of population, Kukatpally has 4,41,181 voters. The constituency also boasts of having 66.70 per cent (2,94,305) young voters. IT professionals, businessmen and migrant labour form bulk of the population in the constituency.

Kukatpally Assembly constituency was formed post delimitation in 2009. Earlier all the segments used to be in the Khairatabad constituency. A total of six segments form the constituency. These include Kukatpally Housing Board, Moosapet, Motinagar, Fatehnagar, Bowenpally and Kukatpally.

All the segments in the constituency barring Moosapet have equal number of settlers; if not more than the locals. Nearly 95 per cent of these settlers are from Seemandhra and the one who can tap these votes is assured of winning the seat. However, with the voters being educated and IT professionals, they are likely to vote independently rather than all votes going to a single party.

The TDP has a strong cadre in the constituency and has fielded Madhavaram Krishna Rao. He too can tap settlers’ votes to an extent. When it comes to caste equations there is equal representation of Kapus and Reddys in the constituency. Current reports suggests that Reddys are likely to go with the YSRCP. The Kapus who are traditionally the Congress’ vote bank are now moving towards the TDP, at least in this constituency.

The Congress party too has a strong cadre but it doesn’t have a strong leader. Vaddepalli Narasinga Rao, who contested in 2009 polls on the Congress ticket, shifted to the YSRCP. Narasimha Yadav who is contesting on Congress ticket has pinned his hopes on BC voters.

Gottimukkala Padma Rao, who is contesting on a TRS ticket is a strong leader. However, Padma Rao sneaking out a win is a far cry. On the whole, it would be interesting to see who the settlers and 66.70 per cent of young voters would vote for.

Show Full Article
Print Article

Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
Next Story
More Stories