Onus on Sehwag, Gambhir

Onus on Sehwag, Gambhir

Onus on Sehwag, Gambhir. It will be a litmus test for the out-of-favour batsmen - Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir - as India A need nothing less...

It will be a litmus test for the out-of-favour batsmen - Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir - as India A need nothing less than a victory to level the three-match series when they take on West Indies A in their third and final unofficial 'Test', starting here on Wednesday. Having won the first match comprehensively, West Indies A drew the second game to lead the series 1-0 and the hosts would quickly need to make amends to get back to winning ways in a must-win encounter.

All eyes will be on Sehwag and Gambhir, both of whom require to shine with the bat in order to create a chance for themselves to make a comeback to the national side. The show put up by the duo in the previous unofficial 'Test' at Shimoga was disappointing with Gambhir scoring 11, Sehwag managing only seven. Sehwag has not scored a century in 30 Test innings, while Gambhir's dry run with the bat has seen him without a hundred in 40 innings since January 2010.

Even pacer Zaheer Khan, who is also trying to get back into national reckoning, had a dismal outing in the last match with figures of 2 for 93. But the fact that it was a slow pitch, which hardly helped the seamers, and also that Zaheer was playing his first match after a year's gap could be taken into consideration. Zaheer has failed to take five wickets in a Test innings since October 2010, and his fitness and endurance have also been a concern.
Teams (from): India A: Cheteshwar Pujara (Capt), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sheldon Jackson, Abhishek Nayar, Paras Dogra, Uday Kaul (wk), Mohammad Kaif, Parveez Rasool, Bhargav Bhatt, Dhawal Kulkarni, Zaheer Khan, Ishwar Pandey, Mohammad Shami.
West Indies A: Kirk Edwards (C), Kieran Powell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Jahmar Hamilton, Delorn Johnson, Leon Johnson, Nikita Miller, Veerasammy Permaul, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton.
Show Full Article
Print Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories