Amaravati Dance Festival concludes

Amaravati Dance Festival concludes

The second day of Amaravathi Dance Festival was flavoured with a bunch of dance items consisting Kuchipudi, Bharatanatyam, Manipuri and Kathak style...

Vijayawada: The second day of ‘Amaravathi Dance Festival’ was flavoured with a bunch of dance items consisting Kuchipudi, Bharatanatyam, Manipuri and Kathak style of Indian dance forms at Siddhartha auditorium here on Sunday evening.

Nataraj Music and Dance Academy (NMDA) in association with AP Creativity and Culture Commission, Central Sangeet Natak Akademi and Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) organised the event.

The team of KV Lakshmi from Visakhapatnam had presented a Kuchipudi item "Parama purushudu” as inaugural dance of second day and this was well choreographed.

This was followed by a beautiful presentation ‘Madhurastakam’ set in Ragamalika ragam and “Durga krithi” in Dhanyasi ragam by Prithvi Jena from Sagar in Karnataka. With perfect mudras and expressions, Prithvi received appreciations from audience.

Spoorthi Manne of Hyderabad showcased ‘Ramayana Sabdam’ in raga Mohana and depicting the story of Ram from birth to pattabhishekam. This item was in Kuchipudi style.

Geeta Narayan from Visakhapatnam presented ‘Narayaneeyam’ in Kalyani ragam and ‘Tarangam’ in Kuchipudi style composed in ragamalika was well received by the gathering.

Artistes from Jawaharlal Nehru Manipur Dance Academy, Imphal in Manipur rocked the stage with their performance ‘Dhol Cholom’.

Shwetha Venkatesh and Group from Bangalore captivated the auditorium with their excellent Kathak dance items “Geeth Triwat”, a composition with musical notes and percussions. Another item performed by the same team “Matha Kalika”.

The festival was concluded with another Kathak item “Jhinjhoti Tarana” by the same team. Swetha and her team members were deserved for many appreciations for their dedication towards dance.

Dr Sreedhar Cherukuri, Commissioner, APCRDA, S Ravi Shankar Narayan, Additional Commissioner of Income Tax, Dr Vizai Bhaskar, CEO, AP Creativity and Culture Commission, Sathish Babu, M Shyam, Trinadh Raju, Ilapuram Raja, Chairman of Amaravati Nrithyotsav and BR Vikram Kumar were present.

Participants were honoured with a medal and a certificate by the guests.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories