Shun sensationalism, minister tells media

Shun sensationalism, minister tells media

Visakhapatnam: In an attempt to score over other channels in the telecast of news, the electronic media is hurriedly running the news with scrolling...

tellsVisakhapatnam: In an attempt to score over other channels in the telecast of news, the electronic media is hurriedly running the news with scrolling without even confirming the news, observed Minister of State for Information Technology and Communication Dr Killi Kruparani. Addressing the inaugural function of the two-day State Convention of Andhra Pradesh Working Journalists' Federation (APWJF) being organised by Greater Visakha city unit at the AU Assembly Hall here on Saturday, Dr Kruparani said that the convention would have been more fruitful if the organisers involved the media managements. Stating that former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi was instrumental in giving a boost to information and technology, she said IT should be utilised for the benefit of society and not for sensationalism. The Union minister questioned the scribes, who frequently write on sex, pubs and crime, which has a direct impact on society, why they were failing in highlighting undivided families, erosion of human values, literacy campaign and neglect of aged parents. Indirectly hinting at Telugu Desam Party president's 'Vastunna Meekosam' padayatra, Dr Kruparani alleged that some party leaders, during their padayatras, were promising inclusion of some castes into BC and SC lists and scrapping of interest on farm loans, which was not possible as it was in the purview of the Central government. Honorary chairman of the reception committee and Andhra University Vice-Chancellor Prof. GSN Raju said the State-level convention would help discuss issues confronting working journalists and to come out with specific resolutions. Federation general secretary G Anjaneyulu, while appealing to the government to provide job security on par with the government employees and include electronic media in the Working Journalists' Act, 1955, asked the public representatives and the Union minister to extend support in that direction. Among others, RS member Dr T Subbarami Reddy, Government Whip Dronamraju Srinivas, MLAs Dr Malla Vijay Prasad, Tynala Vijay Kumar, Avanthi Srinivasa Rao, MLC Sarma, CPM district secretary Ch. Narasing Rao, Andhra University Registrar Prof. K Rama Mohana Rao, Press Academy chairman T Surender, member of Press Council of India N Ramachandra Rao, RTI Commissioner P Vijayababu and Federation president B Basavapunnaiah spoke. Federation vice-president Gantla Sreenubabu presided over the function. City unit treasurer R Nagaraj Patnaik welcomed the gathering. City unit president P Narayan, secretary PUS Bhaskar and members were present.
Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories