Nama, Renuka file nomination papers

Khammam: On the last day of submission of nomination process, Khammam Parliamentary seat candidates, Nama Nageswara Rao from ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Renuka Chowdhury from Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate Vasudeva Rao and CPM's B Venkat filed their papers.

Huge rallies were taken out by the both the TRS and Congress cadres in a show of their strength.

After submitting the papers to the Returning Officer and Khammam Collector RV Karnan, Nama reached the TRS office and joined the rally at the Martyrs' statue at the Pavilion Grounds.

Later, Nama and the TRS leaders paid tributes to the Martyrs and garlanded the idol of Telangana Thalli statue at the NTR circle.

After that, he attended the public meeting held in SR&BGNR College at Yellandu crossroads along with other leaders.

The meeting was chaired by Khammam MLA Puvvada Ajay Kumar.

Former Minister Tummala Nageswara Rao, speaking on the occasion, said that Nama's victory was a historical requirement in the Khammam Parliamentary constituency and that nobody could stop it.

He added that in-charges of seven Assembly segments in the Parliamentary constituency should work together and help Nama emerge victorious.

MLC Palla Rajeswara Reddy, MLAs Raman Naik, Kandala Upender Reddy, Sandra Venkata Veeraiah, Vanama Venkateswar Rao, TRS State secretary Thata Madhu, Library chairman MD Khamar, former MLAs Banoth Madan Lal, Jalagam Venkata Rao, Thati Venkateswar Rao and Zilla Parishad former chairperson Gadipally Kavitha, Tulluru Brahmaiah and other TRS leaders and cadre participated in this rally.

Similarly, the Congress leaders and cadre took out a huge rally on the occasion Renuka Chowdhury's nomination.

Party leaders Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, V Hanumantha Rao, Sambani Chandrashekar, Shashidhar Reddy, Damodar Reddy, Ex-MLC Potla Nageswar Rao, TDP MLA Mecha Nageswara Rao, TDP leader Koneru Chinni and Renuka's husband Sridhar Chowdhury participated in the rally organised by AICC secretary Srinivasan.

Mahila Congress leaders and activists welcomed Renuka Chowdhury at the DCC Bhavan.

Renuka reached the Collector's office with a rally on an open top vehicle and submitted papers to the EO on the day.

15 independents in fray

Meanwhile, on the last day of the submission of nominations, a large number of nomination papers were submitted for the Khammam parliamentary constituency on Monday.

In a press release, the Election Returning Officer and Khammam District Collector RV Karnan said a total of 27 nominations were submitted.

The candidates from the major parties like TRS, Congress, BJP, TJS and Jana Sena party have filed their nominations.

TRS candidate Nama Nageswara Rao and Congress party candidate Renuka Chowdhury submitted four sets of nominations to the Returning Officer on the last day.

CPM party-backed candidate B Venkat also filed one set of nomination, while BJP party candidate Vasudeva Rao filed two sets of nominations.

Fifteen independent candidates submitted their nominations to the Returning Officer. The scrutiny will be held on Tuesday.

"The list of candidates who qualify in the nominations would be announced tomorrow," informed Collector Karnan.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories