Corruption in Cricket: Timeline

Corruption in Cricket: Timeline

Former Pakistan captain Salman Butt and fast bowler Mohammad Asif, who lost their appeal at the Court of Abritration for Sport against spot-fixing...

Former Pakistan captain Salman Butt and fast bowler Mohammad Asif, who lost their appeal at the Court of Abritration for Sport against spot-fixing bans, were the first players with team-mate Mohammad Amir to be punished by the International Cricket Council (ICC). CRICKET-ENG-PAK-CORRUPTION Players implicated in corruption cases: Life bans May 2000:A Former Pakistan captain Salim Malik banned for life by a judicial inquiry conducted by judge Malik Mohammad Qayyum. Malik was alleged to have fixed matches on Pakistan's tour of New Zealand in 1993, South Africa and Zimbabwe (1994-95). Australian players Shane Warne, Mark Waugh and Tim May also alleged Malik offered them bribes to underperform during Australia's tour to Pakistan in 1994. Team-mate Rashid Latif also accused Malik of wrongdoing. Pakistan paceman Ata-ur-Rehman banned for life for perjury during the Qayyum inquiry. His ban was overturned by the Pakistan Cricket Board in 2003 -- a decision accepted by the ICC in 2006.
October 2000:
A Former South African captain Hansie Cronje banned for life by the United Cricket Board of South Africa after he admitted to match-fixing and having contacts with book-makers. Cronje died in a place crash in June 2002. December 2000:A Former Indian captain Mohammad Azharuddin banned for life after an investigation conducted by India's Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI). He was found to have contacts with book-makers and manipulated match results.
December 2000:
A Former Indian off-spinner Ajay Sharma banned for life in the same CBI inquiry. June 2012:A Indian paceman TP Sudhindra given a life-ban after he was found guilty of "receiving a consideration to spot-fix" in a domestic match. Pakistani spinner Danish Kaneria was banned for life by the the England and Wales Cricket Board after he was found guilty of corruption. The PCB subsequently extended the ban to include his native country.
December 2000:A The same CBI inquiry found Ajay Jadeja to have links with bookmakers. He was banned for five years but on appeal allowed to play in domestic cricket in India three years later. October 2000:A South African opener Herschelle Gibbs banned for six months after admitting being offered money to under-perform. October 2000:A South African paceman Henry Williams banned for six months after admitting taking money from Cronje to under-perform.
August 2004:
A Kenyan cricketer Maurice Odume banned for five years by the Kenyan Cricket Association after it was found that he received money from bookmakers. May 2008:A West Indian all-rounder Marlon Samuels banned for two years after it was proved he took money from a bookie to give match-related information. February 2011:A Salman Butt banned for 10 for spot-fixing. Mohammad Asif banned for seven years and Mohammad Amir for five years.
January 2012:
A Former Essex quick bowler Mervyn Westfield received a five-year ban after he pleaded guilty to spot-fixing in a Pro40 tie against Durham in 2009. June 2012:A Indian trio Mohnish Mishra, Amit Yadav, Abhinav Bali were banned by for a year by the BCCI's disciplinary committee for bringing the game into disrepute following an Indian TV sting. Shalabh Srivastava, also caught up in the sting, was barred from cricket for five years after he was deemed guilty of agreeing and negotiating terms to fix a match, though no fixing ultimately took place.
September 2012:
A Ex-Bangladesh cricketer Sheriful Haque was handed an indefinite suspension after allegations of spot-fixing made by compatriot Mashrafe Mortaza were substantiated. Fines: December 1998:A Warne fined (10,000 Australian dollars) and Mark Waugh (Aus $8,000) for taking money from a bookmaker for providing match-related information during a tour to Sri Lanka in 1994. The matter was only brought to light after four years.
May 2000:
A Pakistan's Wasim Akram was fined 300,000 rupees ($4,000)on his role in match-fixing and offering bribes to other players to under-perform. He was also censured and banned from leading Pakistan again. Five other players, leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed (300,000 rupees), Inzamam-ul-Haq, Waqar Younis, Saeed Anwar and Akram Raza (100,000 rupees) all fined for their roles in match-fixing after Qayyum inquiry.
Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories