Keen TDP-YSRCP tussle in Kurnool district

Keen TDP-YSRCP tussle in Kurnool district

Keen TDP-YSRCP Tussle in Kurnool District, A keen tussle is on between YSRCP and TDP in 14 Assembly constituencies in Kurnool district. Once considered to be a Congress bastion, it has undergone a marked change with the emergence of YSRCP as a factor to be reckoned with.

Kurnool : A keen tussle is on between YSRCP and TDP in 14 Assembly constituencies in Kurnool district. Once considered to be a Congress bastion, it has undergone a marked change with the emergence of YSRCP as a factor to be reckoned with. The TDP is set to improve its tally thanks to the influx from the Congress. The Congress is down in most segments, barring Kodumuru (SC)

Allagadda: Shobha Nagi Reddy, the YSRCP nominee’s death in an accident last week, changed the scenario. The TDP edge following defections from the Congress consequent to the State’s bifurcation has been blunted partially with the unforeseen tragedy. Shobha was expected to be a sure winner. In the event of YSRCP polling majority votes, the seat will have a by-poll. The Bhuma family will have the upper hand, thanks to the sympathy wave. Gangula Pratap Reddy is the TDP candidate.

Nandyal: Shobha’s husband Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who is seeking election as YSRCP nominee, is in advantage.. Silpa Mohan reddy, a former minister, is contesting for the third time, this time as a TDP nominee. The TDP old guard, not reconciled to the party decision to field him, is likely to have a bearing on its prospects. The Congress fielded G Ramachandra Reddy. The Lok Satta and Jai Samaikyandhra Party are also in the fray.

Nandikotkur (SC): The TDP, Congress and YSRCP are going all out to capture the seat. Labbi Venkataswamy, who has a good image as MLA, is seeking re-election on TDP ticket. Backed by the fan clubs of Nandamuri Balakrishna and Pavan Kalyan, he hopes to make it. The Congress nominee is Ch Ashokratnam, a retired government official. Ekkaladevi Vijayya is the YSRCP candidate. Irrigation facilities are the key issue in five mandals of the constituency. All candidates are promising to complete the lift irrigation schemes.

Kurnool: Mood is upbeat in the camp of former Minister T G Venkatesh, who switched to TDP. As an industrialist and minister, he was involved considerably in the constituency development.He is banking mainly on his community votes. S V Mohan Reddy (YSRCP),. Ahmad Ali Khan(Cong) and M A Gafoor (CPM) are in the fray. Muslim votes will decide the winner. Drainage, traffic and construction of flood walls are key issues.

Kodumuru (SC): M Manigandhi (YSRCP), Renukamma (BJP) and Parigela Muralikrishna ( Cong) are the key contestants in this stronghold of the Kotla family. His influence will decide the winner. Murali Krishna, sitting MLA of the Congress, continues to be in advantage. He may scrape through.

Panyam: Former Minister Erasu Pratap Reddy (TDP), who won the Srisailam seat twice, shifted to Panyam as it appears to be safe. A Venkataswamy, former ZP chairman (Cong), Gouru Charita Reddy (YSRCP) are the other nominees. Katasani Rambhupal Reddy, a five-time winner, is contesting as independent after quitting the Congress over the bifurcation issue.

Banaganapalle: Katasani Ram Reddy(YSRCP), BC Janardhan Reddy (TDP) and Ramasubba Reddy (Cong) are in the fray. The TDP is likely to fare well, as it is being supported by Challa Ramakrishna Reddy.

Pattikonda: K E Krishnamurthy, TDP strongman, is locked in a fierce battle with Kotla Harichakrapani Reddy (YSRCP) and Ch Narayan Reddy (Cong). The TDP is in advantage, as the seat is the party’s stronghold, with predominant presence of BCs.

Dhone: Krishnamurthy‘s brother Pratap is the TDP candidate. P Lakshmi Reddy is being field by the Congress, while B Rajendranath Reddy is trying his luck on YSRCP ticket.

Srisailam: Budda Rajasekhar Reddy, a staunch TDP loyalist, is the YSRCP nominee. Silpa Chakrapani Reddy (TDP) has a fair chance of winning. M Shabana, a senior Congress leader, is in the fray. Budda Rajasekhar lost the loyalists’ backing, as he did not take them into confidence while switching parties.

Yemmiganur: B V Jainageswar Reddy(TDP), son of former Minister B V Mohan Reddy, K Jaganmohan Reddy (YSRCP) and Laksmi Narayan Reddy (Cong) are involved in a no-holds-barred fight.

Alur: Union Minister Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy’s wife Sujatamma (Cong), Gummanur Jayaram (YSRCP) and Veerabhadra Goud (TDP) are in the fray. Sujatamma, who earlier represented Dhone, shifted to Alur as it is her ancestral place. She appears to be fighting against all odds.

Adoni: Y Saiprasad Reddy (YSRCP) and Meenakshi Naidu (TDP), Younus Maniyar(Cong) are in the fray. The YSRCP is likely to click.

Mantralayam: Mantralayam is witnessing a tough contest between Y Balanagi Reddy (YSRCP) and Tikka Reedy (TDP) Mallikarjun Reddy is the Congress nominee. It is considered a must win seat for YSRCP.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories