India opens against Pak

India opens against Pak

India Opens Against Pak, World Twenty20 Championship, Arch-Rival Pakistan. The Men in Blue’s opener in the World Twenty20 Championship is all set to roll an exciting prospect as they take on arch-rival Pakistan.

The Men in Blue’s opener in the World Twenty20 Championship is all set to roll an exciting prospect as they take on arch-rival Pakistan.

Group ‘B’ also has Australia and West Indies. Slated to be held in Bangladesh from March to April 6, the 22-day extravaganza features 60 matches, including 25 women outings and will be played at various grounds, including Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet.
The format for the men's event in next year's tournament has been changed following an increase in teams from 12 to 16.
As the teams' seeding are based on the T20I Team Rankings as on October 8, 2012, the top eight sides following the conclusion of last ICC World Twenty20 will play directly in the Super 10 stage and India is one such side.
Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, which finished outside the top eight, will participate in the first round that will be held from 16-21 March.
The first round of the men's event will include eight sides that will be divided into two groups of four teams each, with the table-toppers progressing to the Super 10 stage.
In the first round, Group A will feature host Bangladesh alongside three teams that will qualify from the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013, to be staged from November 15 to 30. Group B will include Zimbabwe, which will be joined by another three teams from the upcoming qualifiers. As such, the two groups will be finalised on November 30.
The Super 10 stage will start with an evening match between former champions India and Pakistan in Dhaka on March 21.
Defending champions West Indies will launch their title defence against India in an evening match on Sunday March 23. Earlier on the same day, Pakistan will lock horns with Australia, looking for the only global title that has eluded them to date.
If Bangladesh reaches the Super 10 stage, they will play all their matches in Dhaka, facing the West Indies on March 25, India on March 28, and Pakistan on March 30 and Australia on April 1.
The prize money for the men's event will be $3 million, with the winner receiving $1.1 million and the losing finalist collecting $550,000.
The ICC Women's World Twenty20 2014 has been increased from eight to 10 teams after a recent Board decision. The first round matches of the women's event will take place in Sylhet from March 23 to April 2, with the top two sides from each Group progressing to the semi-finals.
Defending champions Australia will kick-off their campaign on Sunday March 23 when they will take on New Zealand.
The prize money for the women's event will be $180,000, with the winner collecting $65,000 and the losing finalist getting $25,000.
Men Super 10 stage Groups: Group 1-Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Group B Qualifier 1 (Q1B); Group 2-West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Group A Qualifier 1 (Q1A); Women: Group A-Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland; Group B-England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories