Curtains down on Parishad polls

Mahbubnagar: The third and final phase of MPTC and ZPTC elections across erstwhile Mahbubnagar has concluded peacefully on Tuesday. Among all the four districts of erstwhile Mahbubnagar, Nagarkurnool district witnessed highest polling per cent of 82.38.

In Mahbubnagar, the elections were held in a peaceful manner as the police made foolproof security arrangements at the polling stations. In the seven mandals including Addakal, Musapet, CC Kunta, Deverakadra, Hanwada, Koilkonda and Mahbubnagar, out of a total of 2,31,184 voters, 1,70,338 voters casted their votes resulting in 73.68 per cent of voting in the district.

In Nagarkurnool district, the polling was conducted in Achampet, Amrabad, Padara, Balmoor, Lingala, Uppununtala, Vangoor and Charakonda mandals. In all these mandals, on an average 75.41 per cent polling was recorded. Among the above mandals, Achampet witnessed the highest polling of 82.38 per cent followed by Vangur with 80.19 per cent.

The elections were held for eight ZPTC and 69 MPTC seats in Nagarkurnool for which the government had conducted elections across 394 polling stations and deployed 2,314 police personnel to ensure free and fair elections.

In Narayanpet district, the elections concluded peacefully except one or two small incidences. In all, the four mandals of Damaragidda, Dhanwada, Marikal and Narayanpet, of the total 1,43,932 votes, only 98,464 votes were polled registering 68.53 per cent voting. The main reason for the low turnout of voters in this part of the region is due to high temperatures besides people being less politically active.

Among all the four mandals, Marikal recorded highest polling percentage of 69.77 per cent followed by Narayanpet with 69.05 per cent. In Wanaparthy district, Collector Sweta Mohanty inspected the polling process and visited the Veepanagandla polling station and directed the concerned polling staff to ensure free and fair polling.

"We have taken all necessary precautions to ensure the last phase of elections are held in a peaceful, free and fair manner," said the Wanaparthy Collector. In Gadwal, the elections were held peacefully amidst supervision of District Collector K Shashank. Elections were held in four mandals under Gadwal and Alampur constituencies where in voters are set to elect four ZPTC and 40 MPTC candidates.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories