Candidates refuse to give up, continue lobbying

Candidates refuse to give up, continue lobbying

♦ There is an intense competition in TDP for Kurnool Assembly between sitting MLA S V Mohan Reddy and T G Bharat. ♦ Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy’s opinion will influence party’s decision on Kodumur(SC) seat. ♦ Sivananda Reddy holds the key in deciding the candidate for Nandikotkur. ♦ No clarity on the fate of Butta Renuka, likely to be fielded in Adoni.

Kurnool: Though two major political parties, TDP and YSRCP, have almost finalised their lists for the Assembly elections, several candidates are still refusing to give up. For instance, both SV Mohan Reddy and TG Bharat have been lobbying intensely for the Kurnool ticket from the ruling party .

While Bharat, son of TG Venkatesh, has been continuing with his mass contact programme with his Vision Yatra in the constituency, the sitting MLA, SV Mohan Reddy is leaving no stone unturned to retain his seat. The same situation is prevailing in Adoni, Nandyal, Nandikotkur and Kodmur constituencies.

In Kodumur (SC), former Union minister Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy, who recently joined TDP, has a strong base. Hence, it is learnt that the TDP will give the seat whom he supports.

Two candidates, Guduru Prabhakar and the sitting MLA Mani Gandhi are in the race for the ticket in TDP. Sources say Mani Gandhi is trying to win over the support of Kotla lest he may lose chance.

Nandikotkur, another SC reserved constituency is also witnessing a similar situation where Mandra Sivananda Reddy holds the key. Sources say the TDP high command would announce the name of the contestant candidate on his recommendation only.

The fate of outgoing Kurnool MP Butta Renuka is still hanging in balance as the seat is almost confirmed to Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy. There is no word whether she would be fielded in Adoni Assembly constituency or would be shifted to some other seat. If she is declared as Adoni candidate, the current MLA Meenakshi Naidu would be thrown out of the ring.

There is still no clarity on the TDP candidates for Nandyal Lok Sabha seat. Sitting MP S P Y Reddy is said to be mounting pressures on the high command to give him another chance but it is learnt that the seat would be allotted to Mandra Shivananda Reddy, the present in-charge for Nandikotkur Assembly constituency.

S P Y Reddy's son-in-law Sajjala Sridhar Reddy is also hoping for nomination from Nandyal Assembly seat. Sreedhar Reddy said that the high command will definitely allot MP seat to his father-in-law.

"Though several aspirants are in the race for Nandyal MP ticket ranging from Mandra Shivananda Reddy, Gangula Pratap Reddy, all are non-locals and have no base," he added.

The same situation is prevailing in case of YSRCP candidates for various seats in the district, including Lok Sabha seats.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Interested in blogging for We will be happy to have you on board as a blogger.
Next Story
More Stories