Chinnamma ready to contest from Telangana

Chinnamma ready to contest from Telangana

Chinnamma ready to contest from T, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh. L K Advani had recently made known his desire to contest from Gandhinagar seat in Gujarat, from where he is the sitting MP.

  • First list on Feb 27
  • Suspense reigns over Modi’s choice

New Delhi: The Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj has dropped hints of contesting from Telangana if the party so desires. "Mera kya hai, mein to Telangana chali jaungi" (what is there, I can even go to Telangana), she said in the presence of BJP President Rajnath Singh. Cadres also feel her contest will boost party’s prospects in Telangana region.

Sharing the same table at lunch with Rajnath Singh at the party office, after the press conference, Sushma grabbed the opportunity of indicating her mind to the party president, when Rajnath jocularly said that he would contest from Vidisha (her constituency in the outgoing Lok Sabha), in response to a query.

The BJP first list of candidates is expected to be out on February 27, which is expected to contain names of the top party leaders, like BJP Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh and Murli Manohar Joshi.

All eyes are on the first list, to see from where Narendra Modi will contest the Lok Sabha elections. Sources in the party state that he could be contesting even from two seats, one in Gujarat and the other in Uttar Pradesh, as such a move is expected to bolster the party's poll prospects in the Hindi-heartland State. In Uttar Pradesh, the Lucknow parliamentary constituency represented by Atal Behari Vajpayee, besides Varanasi is among the seats identified for Modi. The party feels that if Modi enters the electoral fray from Uttar Pradesh, it will help boost the party's prospects in the State that sends 80 MPs to Parliament.

Besides, it remains to be seen whether senior leader Arun Jaitley, who is Rajya Sabha member from Gujarat, will enter the electoral fray. Some of the parliamentary constituencies shortlisted for him include Jaipur in Rajasthan, Amritsar in Punjab and even Delhi.

L K Advani had recently made known his desire to contest from Gandhinagar seat in Gujarat, from where he is the sitting MP. There was a move from the Sangh to persuade him to go Rajya Sabha during the recent biennial elections, but he stoutly resisted the move.

Murli Manohar Joshi, who is sitting MP from Varanasi, may move to Allahabad, in case either Modi or Rajnath Singh prefers to contest from Varanasi. Rajnath Singh is a sitting MP from Ghaziabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories