Collector, political leaders inspect EVMs

Collector, political leaders inspect EVMs

A Venkataswamy from Congress, K Nagendra TDP Hanumantha Reddy YSRCP Nagendra BJP Bala Swamy BSP Shadrak CPM District Revenue Officer DRO Sasi Devi Administrative Officer Venkata Ramana Tahsildars Ravi and Lakshmi Krupa and otherrevenue staff were also present

Kurnool: District Collector S Satyanarayana and leaders of various political parties have visited the godown in which Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were kept at the Collectorate here on Wednesday and inspected the model ballot, control units and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) manufactured by BHEL. On the directions of the Election Commission of India, they were brought to Kurnool from Bengaluru for the ensuing general elections.

Speaking to the media here on Wednesday, the Collector stated that the district administration has received 12,096 ballot units, 9,450 control units and 9,380 VVPATs in the first phase. As many as 20 engineers from BHEL will stay till all the units were inspected. The leaders of political parties can visit the EVM godown and can clarify their doubts with the engineers, he mentioned. A mock poll would be held after completion of EVMs inspection, he added.

A Venkataswamy from Congress, K Nagendra (TDP); Hanumantha Reddy (YSRCP); Nagendra (BJP); Bala Swamy (BSP); Shadrak (CPM); District Revenue Officer (DRO) Sasi Devi; Administrative Officer Venkata Ramana; Tahsildars Ravi and Lakshmi Krupa and other revenue staff were also present.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories