Vijayamma, not hurry, makes difference

Vijayamma, not hurry, makes difference

Visakhapatnam: Vijayamma, not Hurry, Makes Difference, In order to achieve his goal of defeating YSRCP candidate in Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency.

Visakhapatnam: In order to achieve his goal of defeating YSRCP candidate in Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency, YS Vijayalakshmi, Sabbam Hari, sitting MP from Anakapalli and a candidate of Jai Samaikyandhra Party (JSP) has retired from the contest in favour of Kambhampati Hari Babu, BJP candidate. It is a huge embarrassment for Kiran Kumar Reddy, former Chief Minister who founded JSP. Hari’s desperate step may not result in the victory of the BJP candidate since the voters who would have voted for the JSP candidate may not migrate with him. They might choose to vote for YSRCP candidate instead. Moreover, the CPM which has been supporting the JSP has made it clear that it would ask its voters to vote for YSRCP. The CPM wanted to have a tie-up with the YSRCP to start with. When the latter did not show inclination, it entered into an agreement with Kiran’s outfit. Observers say that there is no change in the ground situation or the mood of the people which is considered to be somewhat in favour of YSRCP. The Modi-Naidu-Pawan Kalyan effect should help Hari Babu to pick up more votes. If it works out, the contest would be keen and the result unpredictable. As of now, things appear to be in favour of Vijayalakshmi, YS Jaganmohan Reddy’s mother. YSRCP supporters claim that Vijayalakshmi would win by a margin of more than a lakh of votes. Out of 14 Assembly seats in Visakhapatnam district, YSRCP is expecting 8 seats while the rest may go to the TDP. The BJP is not likely to open its account in the district. The seven Assembly segments which are part of Vizag LS constituency are expected to be tilting towards the YSRCP due to the presence of the honorary president of YSRCP as the party candidate.

There are seven Assembly segments in Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency. They are: Bhimunipatnam, Gajuwaka, Vizag-East, Vizag-North, Vizag-West, Vizag-South and S Kota.

Visakhapatnam: Vijayamma, not Hurry, Makes Difference

Bhimunipatnam: It is where former minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao is the TDP candidate. Anita Sakuru, an NRI who was promised TDP ticket by party president Chandrababu Naidu sometime back is bitter with Naidu. She is bent upon defeating the TDP candidate. Her effort would help YSRCP candidate Karri Ramu. Korada Rajababu, who expected YSRCP ticket was bent upon filing nomination as independent but was successfully dissuaded by Vijayalakshmi. Ganta selected this constituency because Kapu community is present in large measure. The sitting MLA from Bhimli Avanti Srinivasa Rao was shunted to Ankapalli to fight for LS seat.

Gajuwaka: The YSRCP is expected to do well here. Sitting MLA Chintalapudi Venkataramaiah who migrated to the TDP from the Congress along with Ganta Srinivasa Rao was denied the TDP ticket. Palla Srinivasa Rao, son of former TDP MLA Palla Simhachalam was preferred by the TDP leadership. Film actor Sudhakar Naidu was given Congress ticket by his mentor Chiranjeevi. YSRCP has fielded Tippala Nagireddy who stood second as an independent in 2009. Reddy has an edge.

Vizag-East: This constituency is witnessing a keen contest from the sitting TDP MLA Velagapudi Ramakrishna Babu and YSRCP candidate Vamsikrishna Yadav. The YSRCP candidate, who lost in 2009 to Ramakrishna Babu, is hoping to avenge the defeat. His only botheration is Prabha Gowd who was in the YSRCP but opted to contest on the Congress ticket after failing to secure the party ticket. She had to contend with the negative image of the Congress party. The TDP candidate has an advantage.

Vizag-North: This seat was left for the BJP whose candidate is Vishnukumar Raju. YSRCP has fielded Chokkakula Venkatarao. YSRCP leader Ravi Raju who expected party ticket was disappointed. He left the party and joined the BJP. He is now working overtime to get the YSRCP candidate defeated. But the sitting MLA Tainal Vijaykumar had joined YSRCP soon after Rajya Sabha elections recently. It is a keen tussle between the BJP and the YSRCP candidates who have enough financial clout to spend lavishly.

Vizag- West: This constituency is witnessing an interesting battle of wits. Ratnakar, son of Dadi Veerabhadra Rao, who shifted from the TDP to YSRCP a few months ago, is the YSRCP candidate. Pethakamsetti Ganababu, who recently joined TDP from the Congress, was fielded by Naidu. But sitting MLA Malla Vijaya Prasad has resigned from the Congress and joined the YSRCP. He has been willing to help the YSRCP candidate. Both TDP and YSRCP candidates are from Gavara community and the contest is expected to be close.

Vizag-South: Dronamraju Srinivas, who won the 2009 election by a whisker of 350 votes in three-corner contest, is again fighting on the Congress ticket. Odds are against him. The YSRCP has fielded Kola Guruvulu while TDP’s candidate is Vasupally Ganesh Kumar. Srinivas has done good work in the constituency and enjoys good equation with the fishermen community. But the negative image of the party is pulling him down. He has been doing good work. It is a tight contest between the TDP and the YSRCP.

S Kota: Though it is part of Vizianagaram district, it is in Vizga LS constituency. Kolla Lalitha Kumari, sitting TDP MLA is in the field again on the same party ticket. YSRCP has fielded a contractor from Vizag, Kongali Jagannadham. Indukuri Raghuraju, Botcha’s follower and Vizianagaram Grandhalaya Samstha president, is the Congress candidate. The TDP is strong in this constituency. YSRCP has been poaching the TDP cadre by encouraging mass migrations. Long-time loyalists of the TDP have been jumping into the YSRCP bandwagon overnight. TDP has taken this constituency very prestigiously. Party president Chandrababu Naidu and his son Lokesh also campaigned in this place. It is considered to be a touch-and -go affair.

Reports suggest that about Rs 10 crore on an average is being distributed in one Assembly constituency by two rival candidates of the main political parties. There are some high profile constituencies where the expenditure might be more. Even middle class people living in apartments are also asking the candidates to buy their votes. We cannot substantiate, but the rumours have it that Rs 500 to Rs 1000 is paid for vote. It is a pathetic situation.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
Next Story
More Stories