India to tour England in July

India to tour  England in July

England on Monday agreed to host India for five Test matches, for the first time in 50 years, when the team lands here for a long series which will...

London (PTI): England on Monday agreed to host India for five Test matches, for the first time in 50 years, when the team lands here for a long series which will also include five ODIs and a Twenty20 International next year. "India will play a five-match Test series in this country for the first time since 1959 with Trent Bridge, Lord's, The Ageas Bowl, Emirates Old Trafford and The Kia Oval all hosting Investec Test Matches," the England and Wales Cricket Board said in a statement.

Leicestershire, Derbyshire and Middlesex will host tour matches against India who last toured England in 2011 when they were defeated 0-4 in the Test Series and 0-3 in the ODI Series with the NatWest International T20 series drawn 1-1.
"This will be the first time England has hosted India in a five Test series in more than 50 years and the length of the series reflects the iconic status which contests between these two great cricketing nations now enjoy," ECB Chief Executive David Collier said.
"We anticipate significant demand for tickets both for the Investec Test series, and for the One-Day International series which will be the first encounter between these two countries in the 50-Over format since India's triumph in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy competition at Edgbaston earlier this year.
"We thank the BCCI for their support and also our international venues who between them helped bring a record number of spectators – more than 850,000 - to international cricket over the course of the season when India last toured here in 2011," he added.
The series will start with a three-day tour match against Leicestershire from June 26. The Tests are scheduled from July 9 to August 19. The first Test will be played at Trent Bridge, while Lord's will host the second Test from July 17. This will be followed by the ODI series from August 25 to September 5. The lone T20 is scheduled on September 7, which would mark the end of the long tour.
India's tour of England Schedule:
Tour match v Leicestershire - June 26-28 (Leicester); Tour match v Derbyshire - July 1-3 (Derby); 1st Test - July 9-13 (Trent Bridge); 2nd Test - July 17-21 (Lord's); 3rd Test - July 27-31 (Ageas Bowl); 4th Test - August 7-11 (Old Trafford); 5th Test - August 15-19 (The Oval); 50-over match v Middlesex - August 22, (The Oval); 1st ODI - August 25 (Bristol); 2nd ODI - August 27 (Sophia Gardens); 3rd ODI - August 30, (Trent Bridge); 4th ODI - September 2 (Edgbaston); 5th ODI - September 5 (Headingley); Only T20I - September 7 (Edgbaston).
NZC agrees for a brief tour
Wellington (PTI): New Zealand Cricket on Monday announced a brief schedule for its home series against India in January-February next year, falling in line with the BCCI's demand to keep the tour as short as possible. India will play five One-day Internationals followed by a two-Test series against the Black Caps between January 19 and February 18. Initially the tour was supposed to have three Tests, five One-dayers and one Twenty20 International to be held in February-March.
Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories