Coming Soon: iPhone users can delete sent messages on Facebook messenger
iPhone users will soon be able to delete sent messages up to 10 minutes on Facebook Messenger
New Delhi: iPhone users will soon be able to delete sent messages up to 10 minutes on Facebook Messenger.
The release note confirmed, “Coming soon: Delete a message from a chat thread after it's been sent. If you accidentally send the inappropriate photo, wrong information or put a message in the wrong thread. Now you can easily correct it by removing the message within 10 minutes of sending it"
With this new update, iOS users will get almost 10 minutes time to delete a sent message. Facebook earlier in April this year said that it would introduce the feature to its app. Particularly, the social messaging website then admitted that it had been deleting sent messages of its CEO Mark Zuckerberg. This turned a bit uncomfortable for the social networking site because many saw it as a violation of trust as the app do not have an unsend button. However, it did not reveal any timeline for the same at that time.
The new feature was first tested in the month of October this year. According to a report, the Facebook messenger will be able to delete sent messages from their inboxes as well as from the recipient’s inbox. Inter was caught hidden in the code for an Android version of the app and now the patch notes the same for its iOS.
The 10-min window, as compared to an hour-long period offered by Facebook-owned WhatsApp is comparatively small. But for the Facebook users, it is one of the most-awaited features.