MLC lists: Juggling is on

MLC lists: Juggling is on

Strong lobbying holds up Cong names TDP finalises, yet keeps it back Both parties may announce names today New Delhi/Hyderabad: The marathon...

  • Strong lobbying holds up Cong names
  • TDP finalises, yet keeps it back
  • Both parties may announce names today
mlc1New Delhi/Hyderabad: The marathon exercise by Congress and TDP to finalise the names of the candidates for MLC elections slated to be held on March 21 has left many aspirants in both the parties fuming. While the TDP has unofficially indicated the names of the three probables Y Ramakrishnudu, Mohd Saleem and P Samantakamani, the delay in the release of Congress list has added to the confusion. Both the parties are likely to release the list officially on Sunday morning. According to sources from Delhi the party high command has zeroed in on the names of two sitting members Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy and Dharavat Bharati Ragya Naik. The other three probables are Mohd Shabbir Ali, Dr Srinagi and either Kanteti Satyanarayana Raju or Veerabhadra Swamy will be given the ticket under MLAs quota. Several other names like that of Lakshmi Siva Kumari, Vani Rao, daughter of P V Narasimha Rao, K Vidyadhar Rao, Raghurami Reddy, K Sivananda Reddy, Bhamidipati Ramamurty and Gidugu Rudraraju are said to be under consideration for the four MLC seats under Governor's quota. Though the Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy returned to Hyderabad on Saturday evening after a marathon exercise to finalise the names of the MLC candidates, the aspirants as well as the PCC president Botcha Satyanarayana and Deputy Chief Minister D Rajanarasimha are still camping in New Delhi. After meeting Sonia Gandhi on Friday, both the Chief Minister and APCC President had reportedly worked over the list once again in the light of the suggestions made by her. On Saturday morning, the two met her and submitted a fresh list. Present in the meeting were AICC General Secretary in charge of Andhra Pradesh Ghulam Nabi Azad and Congress President's Political Secretary Ahmed Patel. Ponguleti is the AICC secretary and is said to be close to high command. Bharati is being accommodated under women's quota. She also belongs to ST category. Shabbir Ali is from minority community, a former minster and is close to Azad. All the three are from Telangana region. Dr Srinagi is the daughter of Congress MP K S Rao who has been keeping distance from the party for past some time as he was unhappy for not being taken into the union cabinet during last reshuffle. If Veerabhadra Swamy's name figures in the final list, he would be the choice of Botcha. Rajanarsimha lobbied for Rajani Reddy who belongs to Telangana region and is from madiga community. But her name does not figure in the probables list, according to sources. Interestingly,none of the probable candidates are said to be from the CM's camp. His candidates are likely to be in the list that would be finalized for Governor's quota. The TDP took care to see that social and regional balance was maintained in the list of names. Party senior leader Yanamala Ramakrishnudu is the former Speaker and minister who represented Tuni Assembly constituency for six terms since 1983. He was defeated in 2009. Ramakrishnudu belongs to BC community and is from East Godavari district. Mohd Saleem is the former chairman of Wakf Board and is from Hyderabad. He has been selected under minority quota. P Samantakamani is also a former minister and belongs to Anantapur in Rayalaseema region. The leader of opposition in the Council, Dadi Veerabhadra Rao felt let down by the party leadership for not getting a second term in the council. TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu reportedly spoke to him for long on Saturday and told him that he wants him to contest for the Assembly elections in 2014. He is also said to have assured him that in case he loses Assembly polls he would be sent to Rajya Sabha.
Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories