Komatireddy factor puts TRS on the edge

Komatireddy factor puts TRS on the edgeKomatireddy brothers with MLC candidate Komatireddy Laxmi

The Komatireddy factor is giving jitters to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi leaders

Hyderabad: The Komatireddy factor is giving jitters to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi leaders as the party is taking all steps to wrest the Council seat of Nalgonda Local Authorities Constituency (LAC).

The cause for worry for the TRS is the same council seat which it lost even after having the support of local body representatives like corporators, ZPTCs, MPTCs etc.

Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy was victorious from this seat during 2015 with a handsome majority of 193 votes. During this time the Telangana sentiment was high and despite this the TRS had to face embarrassment of losing the seat to Congress.

Rajagopal Reddy had to resign from the seat after getting elected to Munugode Assembly constituency. Komatireddy had won even after a strong wave of the TRS in the city. This time around the candidate from Congress party is Komatireddy Laxmi, who is the wife of Rajagopal Reddy.

The TRS leadership, which has already sensed the threat, has started taking precautionary steps to ensure victory of the party in this seat.

According to sources, TRS president and Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao has given the responsibility of the seat to party's working president K T Rama Rao. Apart from this, the ministers have also been given the responsibility for ensuring the victory of the party, sources said.

According to the TRS leaders, four Ministers would be in charge for each of the three Council constituencies.

For Nalgonda district, Ministers including G Jagadish Reddy, S Niranjan Reddy, V Srinivas Goud and Council deputy chairman N Vidyasagar Rao have been made in charges. Apart from this, the local MLAs would also be coordinating with the local body representatives.

Sources said that the leaders would camp in Hyderabad and if needed would be taken to other places to avoid any horse-trading exercise by the Congress party.

Some of the local body representatives were brought to the capital on Wednesday and others would also reach soon.

Another worrying factor for the TRS is that the people who are going to vote are old corporators, MPTCs and ZPTCs.

The Election Commission has decided to use the old electorate for this election and it would be interesting to note in whose favour the outgoing representatives would be voting.

The last date for filing nomination ended on Tuesday, the last date for withdrawal of nomination is May 17. Election would be held on May 31 and result would be announced on June 3.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories