Hyderabad-based NGO Sukuki Exnora organised Green Leaf Awards 2015 at Paryatak Bhavan. Individuals and municipal corporations indulging in efficient solid waste management practices were honoured at the event. 


“Sukuki Exnora has been organising Green Leaf Awards since 2007.  It is an effort to reward excellence in solid waste management to find more efficient methods of managing waste and thereby contributing to sustainable environment.  


Nominations were received from several parts of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Karnataka,” stated a release by the NGO. CS Rama Lakshmi, commissioner, seri culture (retired), said that most of the environmental problems are due to reduction of forest area. 


“There is an immediate need to take the plantation on a war-footing and consider establishing an eco task force,” she said. B Janardhan Reddy, CDMA, opined that solid waste management was a thankless job and that there is a need to establish this on top of the agenda for urban development. 



Best Municipal Commissioner - S Shiva Ram Krishna, Tadipatri (AP)

Best Municipal Commissioner - K. Kumara Swamy, Bhongir (Telangana) 

Best Municipality - Miryalaguda (Telangana)

Best Municipality - Mangalagiri (AP)

Best Decentralised SWM - Tenali Municipality



Green Life Eco -care, Bhongir

Sulab Chaitanya Social Service Organisation, Vijayawada

Challapally Village and Jana Vignana Vedika , Challapally



Pyrogreen Energy (P) Ltd, Hyderabad

Peepal Industries (P) Ltd, Hyderabad