TDP and MIM to slug it out

TDP and MIM to slug it out

TDP and MIM to slug it out, MIM and Congress, Virasat Rasool Khan, Feroz Khan. The MIM has fielded Jaffer Hussain Meraj, former Deputy Mayor. However, the incumbent Virasat Rasoool Khan, who was denied ticket.

Change of candidates affects fortunes of both MIM and Congress

There is an anti-incumbency wave for the MIM in the constituency. All the hard work undertaken by the candidates of MIM, Congress and AAP, went down the drain. While the MIM’s incumbent Virasat Rasool Khan and ex-Congress member Feroz Khan were denied tickets by their respective parties, AAP’s Rukmini Banoth’s nomination was rejected by the Returning Officer (RO).

Post delimitation in 2009, Nampally Assembly constituency was formed by combining the divisions Red Hills, Chintalbasti, Mallepally, Ahmednagar, Vijaynagar Colony, Asif Nagar, Mehdipatnam and Muradnagar. The constituency is in the heart of the city. The Assembly building and the DGP office are its landmark structures. Asifnagar and Nampally mandals form most of the constituency. Nampally has a total of 2, 61,602 voters of whom 1, 38,796 are men and 1, 22,793 are women. The constituency has 61.26 per cent i.e. 1, 60,267 of young voters.

The MIM has fielded Jaffer Hussain Meraj, former Deputy Mayor. However, the incumbent Virasat Rasoool Khan, who was denied ticket, has decided not to campaign for Jaffer. The TRS is fielding K Hanmanth Rao while E Vinod Kumar is being fielded by the Congress. The Lok Satta Party is fielding Kanthimathi Kannan.

In the 2009 elections, out of the total 1,08,205 votes polled in the constituency, Virasat Rasool Khan secured 31.8 per cent votes (34,439 votes) while Feroz Khan, who then belonged to the Congress, secured 25.5 per cent votes ( 27,640 votes).

Feroz Khan, who lost by a narrow margin of 6,000 votes in Nampally in 2009, was expecting a ticket from the Congress. However, he was denied a ticket. Feroz quit the party and joined the the TDP and was given a ticket. But with the recent alliance of the TDP and the BJP, there is a sort of cold war between Feroz and the BJP leaders.

Some 65 per cent of the total voters in the constituency are Muslims. The MIM is banking on the developmental works it carried out in the constituency over the past five years. It is also looking forward to sweeping all the Muslim votes. However, it would be difficult for them to fight the anti-incumbency wave. TDP’s Feroz khan would play a key role in bringing a rift in the Muslim votes. The TRS is banking on the T sentiment. However, the Congress is also wooing the voters on the same sentiment. The constituency is likely to witness a strong fight between the MIM and the TDP.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
Next Story
More Stories