Sankranti Calendar 2019
Sankranti Calendar 2019

Sankranti… The word Sankranti means 'sacred changes’. According to Indian astrology, it is the migration of the Sun from one rashi (zodiac) to another. There are 12 Sankranti's in a year as per Hindu calendar. 
The southern Indian states follow the Solar Calendar in accordance to which Sankranti marks the beginning of a month. While in other states like Bengal and Orisa, it marks the ending of the month. Days of Sankranti are considered good for charity. However, the auspicious ceremonies are avoided on this day. Among all the 12 Sankranti's, Makar Sankranti is the most significant one and it is observed throughout India. Uttarayan in Gujarat, Lohri in Punjab, Pongal in Tamil Nadu and Bihu in Assam. 
Happy Sankranti! 


January 14

Makar Sankranti

February 13

Kumbh Sankranti

March 15

Meena Sankranti

April 14

Mesha Sankranti

May 15

Vrishabha Sankranti

June 15

Mithuna Sankranti

July 16

Karka Sankranti

August 17

Singh Sankranti

September 17

Kanya Sankranti

October 18

Tula Sankranti

November 17

Vrishchika Sankranti

December 16

Dhanu Sankranti


Next Article

One night stand deepens emotional bond