Now Twitter web users can "softly block" annoying followers

Twitter
x

Twitter

Highlights

The feature was first rolled out in testing last month by Twitter.

Twitter is rolling out a new feature that allows any user on the web to remove a follower without blocking them, an action also known as "soft blocking."

To gently block a follower, go to your profile, click followers, click the three-dot menu next to a follower, and then click the "Remove this follower" option. (You can see what that option looks like in a Twitter image at the top of this post.) A follower you delete will not be notified of the change.

A soft block is different from a block in that it allows a user to continue viewing your tweets and send you direct messages, but they will not see your tweets in your feed. That being said, when you remove a follower, they can follow you again if they want to. The function can be useful if you don't want to do a full lock but want to create a space for another user. This new Twitter method is a bit easier than the old one, which required manually blocking and unblocking someone.

The ability to remove a follower is the latest feature on Twitter to give users more control over their experience on the platform to help curb abuse and harassment. In September, the company began testing a new Security Mode feature that automatically locks abusive accounts temporarily, although it is unclear when it will be rolled out more widely.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Interested in blogging for thehansindia.com? We will be happy to have you on board as a blogger.
Next Story
More Stories