Result fever grips parties in Chittoor dist

Tirupati: A day ahead of counting of votes in the general elections, entire district is in the grip of result fever.

The candidates spent sleepless nights thinking of the result outcome and weighing various last-minute calculations. People were so puzzled and confused about the prospects of TDP and YSRCP candidates.

Especially, the exit polls have pushed candidates, their followers and public as well into a State of utter confusion and made them to stand on their toes to know the exact results on Thursday.

In all, 181 candidates have contested from 14 Assembly constituencies while 29 candidates fought for three Lok Sabha seats in the general elections for which the polling was held on April 11. After a wait of 42 days, counting of votes will be held on Thursday in Chittoor. After hectic campaigning for about a month, the candidates have spent a few days analysing the boothwise polling pattern to assess their fortunes of winning. As the counting of votes was more than a month, they got relieved from tensions and relaxed at summer sojourns and spent with family and friends.

For the last 10 days, they again focused their attention on the counting and were busy in selecting counting agents and training them. As the Super Thursday approaching, the candidates blood pressure has gone up.

Though candidates of both TDP and YSRCP have been expressing confidence on their victory before their followers, they could not get the exact pulse of people. Jana Sena candidates have given tough fight in a couple of constituencies, the main fight in all the 14 Assembly and three Parliamentary constituencies is expected to be between the TDP and YSRCP. Except Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu's victory in Kuppam, either of the parties were not in a position to say confidently the winning chances of other candidates.

In nine constituencies, sitting MLAs have contesting again. Sitting MLAs N Chandrababu Naidu of TDP from Kuppam, M Suguna of TDP from Tirupati, Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy of YSRCP from Chandragiri, Y Narayanaswamy of YSRCP from GD Nellore, RK Roja of YSRCP from Nagari, C Ramachandra Reddy of YSRCP from Piler, P Ramachandra Reddy of YSRCP from Punganur, N Amarnath Reddy of TDP (he won on YSRCP ticket in 2014 but switched loyalties to TDP later) from Palamaner and G Sankar Yadav of TDP from Thamballapalle have contested again in this elections.

TDP has changed the candidatures of sitting MLAs in Srikalahasti where B Gopalakrishna Reddy's son Sudhir Reddy was chosen; in Satyavedu by choosing JD Rajasekhar in place of T Aditya and in Chittoor the party has given ticket to former MLA AS Manohar in place of DK Satyaprabha, who has contested as MP candidate from Rajampet. YSRCP has changed two sitting MLAs in Puthalapattu where party ticket went to MS Babu from M Sunil Kumar and Madanapalle ticket goes to M Nawaz Basha as party decided to change Desai Thippa Reddy's candidature this time.

In the Parliamentary elections, sitting MPs P Mithun Reddy of YSRCP from Rajampet and Dr N Siva Prasad of TDP from Chittoor have been contesting again, YSRCP has given ticket to former MLA B Durgaprasad from Tirupati in place of sitting MP V Varaprasad Rao where TDP has fielded four-time MP Panabaka Lakshmi.

Meanwhile, all roads are leading to Chittoor where counting of votes will take place. The hotels and guest houses in Chittoor were said to be totally booked by the candidates and their followers as most of them reached the city on Wednesday itself. They should reach the counting centres before 6 am on Thursday.

Police were vigilant and deployed additional forces to prevent any untoward incidents. The revenue officials have completed all arrangements for counting and mock counting was also held on Wednesday.

Arrangements to serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks to the counting staff, agents and media were made at the counting centres. District Election Officer PS Pradyumna has visited the counting centres and reviewed the arrangements.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories