Trouble for BJP in Jharkhand

Trouble for BJP in Jharkhand

  • Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party to contest 50 seats
  • BJP-AJSU alliance on the rocks, BJP chief whip joins AJSU

Ranchi : Before the dust settles in Maharashtra where the BJP's longtime ally Shiv Sena didn't agree to form government with it, the BJP in Jharkhand is also facing pressure from its allies AJSU and LJP on agreeing to a seat-sharing formula for the Assembly election to be held in five phases from November 30.

Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), which contested only one seat in 2014 and lost, will go solo on 50 seats this time, much higher than the six seats it initially asked the BJP it would like to contest - Jarmundi, Nala, Hussainabad, Barkagaon, Latehar and Panki.

"The Lok Janshakti Party has decided it will contest 50 seats alone. The first list of party candidates will be soon," Paswan tweeted.

BJP's another alliance problem the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) has fielded its own candidates in at least three constituencies where the BJP, its ally has already announced candidates.

The party spokesperson Deosharan Bhagat said, "Party supremo, Sudesh Mahto will contest from Silli, Sunita Chaudhary wife of Giridih MP, Chandraprakash Chaudhary will contest from Ramgarh, MLA from Husainabad Kushwaha Sheopujan Mehta to contest from same seat, Lambodar Mahto to be the party candidate from Gomia, Roshanlal Chaudhary, former AJSU Party candidate from Barkagaon to contest from same seat."

Sahis will contest from Jugsalai seat, Manoj Chandra is candidate from Simaria, Sadanand Mahto to be contest from Sindari and Ramlal Munda will be candidate from Chakradharpur, Bhagat added.

On the other hand, BJP has also announced its candidates for Simaria, Chakardharpur and Sindri in its first list of 52 candidates on Sunday. The party has decided to filed Chief Minister Raghuvar Das from Jamshedpur East.

In the 2014 Assembly elections, BJP had contested from 72 seats and had won 37 seats, whereas AJSU from eight seats but could win five seats.

In a move to settle the alliance, AJSU president Sudesh Mahto had met BJP president Amit Shah in New Delhi on Sunday late night. Mahto had informed Shah about the party point of view.

"Not only seat sharing there are some issues which needs to be addressed. We have shared our point of view with BJP president" said Mahto after the meeting. With the announcement of its candidates by the AJSU, BJP is likely to field its candidates from Chandankyrai and LOhardagga.

"Now there is least chance of alliance with AJSU. The state and central leadership are now not in contact with AJSU. Party may announce second list by Tuesday evening" said a source in BJP to IANS.

November 13 is the last day for filing nominations for the first phase of polling in Jharkhand election. With one day left, will the BJP-AJSU be able sort it out or will the saffron party, as it is tipped, brazen it out and challenge AJSU by releasing another list of candidates, taking it to a point of no return?

The chief whip of ruling BJP Radha Krishna Kishore on Tuesday joined the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU). Kishore joined the AJSU after being denied a ticket by the BJP. He was legislator from the Chattarpur Assembly seat.

"I was the chief whip of the party. I have resigned from the membership of the BJP and joined AJSU. The AJSU is being led by a son of the soil.

The denial of ticket has surprised me and the people of the my constituency as well. I asked for the reason from the BJP as to why I was denied the ticket," said Kishore after joining the AJSU.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories