TDP unveils first list for Seemandhra

TDP unveils first list  for Seemandhra

Telugu Desham Party Unveils First List for Seemandhra, TDP president N Chandrababdu on Wednesday announced the first list of nominees for the region.

  • Names announced for 7 MP and 47 MLA seats
  • Naidu seeks to seize the first-mover advantage
  • Party to decide on fate of many top guns later
  • Veerasiva, Challa Ramakrishna not given tickets
  • Naidu evasive on whether Jr NTR will campaign

Telugu Desham Party Unveils First List for SeemandhraHyderabad: In a bid to seize the first-mover advantage in the electoral battle for Seemandhra, TDP president N Chandrababdu on Wednesday announced the first list of nominees for the region. The release of the list, which came ahead of rival political parties, finalised its nominees for seven parliamentary constituencies and 47 Assembly constituencies. They were given clearance for going ahead with their campaign pending issue of B-Forms. The list included Naidu’s name too; he will re-contest from Kuppam constituency. He could, however, give no clarity on the constituencies of many of its important leaders. Naidu made it clear that he would be able to take a decision on the nomination of Balakrishna only after taking him into confidence.

He observed that the party had finalized the list by adopting the best of procedures. The selection was made based on the merits of the candidates. The feedback gathered from the party cadres and the general public in the respective constituencies was taken into consideration in deciding the candidates. A close look at the list indicates that Naidu has turned a cold shoulder to Gandluru Veerasiva Reddy, the Congress sitting MLA from Kamalapuram, who had joined the TDP a few days ago. The party fielded Putta Narasimiha Reddy from the seat. Similarly, former MLA Challa Ramakrishna Reddy, who had recently joined the TDP and wanted to contest from Banaganapalle Assembly segment, has also been snubbed as BC Janardhan Reddy has been nominated from that seat. As Naidu had promised party tickets to J C Diwakar Reddy and his brother Prabhakar Reddy, who had quit Congress after the Parliament had passed the Bill to bifurcate the State, decided not to give seat to party leader G Deepak Reddy who sought Rayadurg Assembly seat.

Deepak Reddy is related to Diwakar Reddy. Naidu has opted for the candidature of former MP Kaluva Srinivas from Rayadurg seat. The TDP chief allotted party nomination to his senior colleague Karanam Balarama Krishna Murthy's son Venkatesh from Addanki Assembly seat. Tuni seat in East Godavari district which was represented by party senior leader and MLC Y Ramakrishnudu has been given to his brother Y Krishnudu. Former Minister Kimidi Kala Venkata Rao, who had rejoined the TDP from the erstwhile Praja Rajyam Party, has been nominated from Etcherla seat whereas former Speaker Kavali Prathibha Bharathi will test her luck from Rajam seat. Balakrishna's close aide Kadiri Babu Rao has been fielded from Kanigiri seat. Naidu refused to answer a question on whether or not Jr NTR would take up campaign during the elections. All that he said was that he would welcome anyone who came forward to campaign for the party.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories