Breakthrough Prize

Breakthrough Prize

The trophy was created by artist Olafur Eliasson. Like much of Eliasson-'s work, the sculpture explores the common ground between art and science.

A team of scientists, who are working with the Laser Interferometer Gravitational wave Observatory (LIGO) experiment, have received a Special Breakthrough Prize in fundamental physics. The LIGO experiment had discovered the gravitational waves in September 2015. Since 2012, the Breakthrough Prizes have been given for breakthrough achievements in Mathematics, Physics and Life Sciences. Along with each prize also comes a reward of whopping $3 million. A ceremony will be held in the fall of 2016 in which the laureates will all be recognised, website of the Breakthrough Prize says, according to

According to the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS), Bengaluru, 37 researchers from around India belong to the second subset. Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the Indian scientists for receiving the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, the website reports. "Congratulations to the Indian scientists who are among the recipients of the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics. These scientists have been awarded for detection of gravitational waves, an exceptional scientific accomplishment", the Prime Minister tweeted.

The Breakthrough Prize is a set of international awards bestowed in three categories by Breakthrough Prize Board in recognition of scientific advance. These prizes were founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, Yuri Milner and Julia Milner, and Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang. Committees of previous laureates choose the winners from candidates nominated in a process that’s online and open to the public.

Laureates receive $3 million each in prize money. They attend a televised award ceremony designed to celebrate their achievements and inspire the next generation of scientists. As part of the ceremony schedule, they also engage in a program of lectures and discussions. Those that go on to make fresh discoveries remain eligible for future Breakthrough Prizes. The trophy was created by artist Olafur Eliasson. Like much of Eliasson's work, the sculpture explores the common ground between art and science. It is molded into the shape of a toroid, recalling natural forms found from black holes and galaxies to seashells and coils of DNA.

The Breakthrough Prize has opened the public nomination period for its 2017 prizes in Fundamental Physics, Life Sciences and Mathematics. While self-nominations are prohibited, anyone may make a nomination for another person. The nomination form and rules are available at

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories