TDP not to support no-trust move

TDP not to support no-trust move

Govt confident of defeating the Motion TRS doesn't have the numbers to move the motion YSRCP is also unlikely to support it Hyderabad:...

  • Govt confident of defeating the Motion
  • TRS doesn't have the numbers to move the motion
  • YSRCP is also unlikely to support it
copsHyderabad: Political heat was witnessed in the State Assembly premises a day ahead of the budget session indicating that both the ruling party and the opposition parties were ready for a fight on several issues. While the TRS reiterated that it would move a no-confidence motion against the government, the Telugu Desam Party said it would not support the motion. A decision to this effect was taken by a five-member committee of the party which met on Tuesday to discuss the line of action to be adopted on the no-trust move. Its decision was endorsed by party Chief N Chandrababu Naidu, who was away on his Meekosam Vastunna yatra. The TDP leaders made it clear that the no-confidence motion was intended to distract the public attention from the real issues of the people as well as the Padayatra of Naidu that had evoked considerable response. Since the YSRCP has taken a pro-Congress stand it is unlikely to support the motion. Meanwhile, minister for legislative affairs D Sridhar Babu said that the government was ready to face the no-trust move and that it had enough strength to defeat the motion. The minister said that the government had already worked out the arithmetic and the opposition was in for disappointment. He felt that a new culture of aya ram and gaya ram was being encouraged by the TRS and YSRCP. The Congress would ask the Speaker to take necessary action against those who had switched loyalties to other parties. Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy also reacted sharply in Mahabubnagar saying that he had no fears and that he would face the no- confidence motion without any problem. To move a no-confidence TRS requires 30 members. The party has 17 MLAs. A It is banking on the support of the three-member BJP, TDP rebels Nagam Janardhan Reddy, S Venugopalachari and K Harishwar Reddy. In addition, it hopes that the four CPI and seven MIM members will also support them. This would add up to 34 members. However, it remains to be seen if the MIM will support the TRS since the issue on which the TRS wants to move the no-confidence motion is on the issue of separate T state. MIM is opposed to the bifurcation of the state. For the first time, the budget session will be held in the absence of leader of Opposition.Chandrababu Naidu who is on padayatra and will join the session in the latter part. Since the system of standing committees to discuss demands for grants would be introduced from this session, the opposition parties would have enough time to raise issues like the problems of farmers, power crisis, rising prices, deteriorating law and order situation in the wake of Dilsukhnagar twin bomb blasts etc. The session would begin with a joint address by Governor ESL Narsimhan on Wednesday. After that both the Houses would adjourn for the day. The Speaker will then hold the business advisory committee (BAC) meeting to finalise the agenda for the week. Heavy police bandobust has been made by the police. About 1000 police personnel, 16 DSPs, 40 SI's and SPF personnel have been deployed. New CCTV cameras have been installed for better monitoring. The police held a mock drill on Tuesday. The Assembly itself has gone in for total revamping with an estimated expenditure of Rs 3.2 crore. A new audio system and mikes, and surveillance systems, have been set up as a part of overall revamp exercise.
Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories