66% polling recorded in Nalgonda


Nalgonda/ Yadadri-Bhongir: Elections for Lok Sabha in Nalgonda and Bhongir constituencies concluded peacefully on Thursday.

As a part of arrangements, in seven Assembly constituencies viz Nalgonda , Miryalguda, Nagarjuna Sagar , Devarakonda, Huzurnagar, Kodad and Suryapet of Nalgonda MP constituency as many as 1,997 polling stations were established for the convenience of the people to cast their votes.

Of the total 15,85,433 voters in Nalgonda MP constituency , 10,48,130 ( 66.11 %) voters utilized their votes. Of the seven Assembly segments of Nalgonda MP constituency , poll percentage in Deverakonda Assembly constituency was recorded at 63.05%, followed by Nagarjuna Sagar( 63.99% ) , Miryalguda (68.13%) , Huzurnagar (68.54%) , Kodad (68.90%), Suryapet( 68%) and Nalgonda (62.10%).

As many as 9,234 polling staff including 2,258 polling officers, 2,258 assistant polling officers, 4,516 other polling officers, 202 micro observers rendered their services in 1,997 polling stations of Nalgonda MP constituency.

Also, in seven Assembly constituencies viz Janagaon, Aler, Bhongir, Tungaturthi, Munugodu, Nakrekal and Ibrahimpatnam of Bhongir MP constituency as many as 2,073 polling stations were established for the convenience of voters. Of the 16, 27 , 527 voters in the constituency, 11,10,787 (68.25 %) voters utilized their votes.

poll percentage in Ibrahimpatnam Assembly constituency was recorded at 65% , in Munugodu it was 72.50 , in Nakrekal 64.79% , Tungaturthy 69.13% , Aliar 75.25% , Janagoan 62.23% and in Bhongir Assembly constituency it was 70.05 %. After mock polling of EVMs in the presence of polling agents, polling was started at 7am in all polling stations of Nalgonda and Bhongir MP constituencies.

Overcoming hot temperature, voters turnout in villages were high compared to that of town in both Nalgonda and Bhongir Parliament constituencies.

Along with central armed forces, local police made elaborative arrangements at all polling stations in two constituencies and section 144 was also imposed at polling stations to avoid any untoward incidents.

Wheelchairs and ramps were arranged at all polling stations for the convenience of disabled and aged voters. Also, basic amenities were provided at all polling centers for the convenience of voters. As per the EC's directions, polling staff allowed all voters who are in line by 5PM to cast their votes.

After completion of voting, amid tight security, EVMs were shifted to respective strong rooms and security personnel were deployed outside the strong rooms. Counting of votes will be done on May 23.

Nalgonda MP constituency election officer Gaurav Uppal , Bhongir MP constituency election officer Anitha Ramchandran along with other officials, observers and police officials inspected various polling stations and observed polling process from time to time.

As a part of fair and free elections, micro observers were deputed in sensitive areas and webcasting was carried out in almost all polling stations.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories