Aspirants fight it out for ZP chief posts in Warangal

Aspirants fight it out for ZP chief posts in Warangal

Aspirants of ZP chief post are busy in impressing the TRS leadership, their political demigods and other ZPTC-elects as the indirect election to the ZP chief post is scheduled for tomorrow

Warangal: If winning an election is a tough battle, seizing the coveted post is an ultimate battle. This exactly the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidates, who won the zilla parishad territorial constituency (ZPTC) seats are facing at the moment.

With the TRS winning 62 of the 70 ZPTC seats spread in six zilla parishads – Warangal Urban, Rural, Jangaon, Mahabubabad, Mulugu and Jayashankar-Bhupalpally, the number of aspirants vying for the ZP chief posts also appears to be multiplied.

With just a little time left for the indirect election to the ZP chief posts, which is scheduled for June 8, the aspirants seem to be in a hurry since the results announced on June 4. They are leaving no stone unturned to impress the TRS leadership, their political demigods and the other ZPTC-elects.

Marapalli Sudheer Kumar and R Sunitha, the ZPTC-elects from Elkathurthy and Hasanparthy, appear to be the frontrunners for the Warangal Urban ZP chief post, which is reserved for SC General.

While the former said to have the blessings of Husnabad MLA V Sathish Kumar, the latter has the support of Wardhannapet MLA Aroori Ramesh.

As far as the Warangal Rural ZP chief post is concerned, it's been seen as a foregone conclusion. Although Narsampet MLA Peddi Sudarshan Reddy's wife Swapna, elected from Nallabelly ZPTC, is an aspiring for the post, the TRS leadership reportedly assured of giving it to Bhupalpally MLA

Gandra Venkatramana Reddy's wife Jyothy, Shayampet ZPTC-elect. It may be mentioned here that Venkatramana Reddy of Congress had announced that he was set to join the TRS.

There is a stiff competition for the Jangaon ZP chief post, which is reserved for General, with the likes of Gudi Vamsidhar Reddy (Lingala Ghanpur), who is said to have good rapport with TRS working president K T Rama Rao, and Pagala Sampath Reddy (Chilpur) who has the backing of Palla Rajeshwar Reddy, are in the fray for the post.

This apart, Tarigoppula ZPTC-elect Muddasani Padmaja Venkat Reddy and Nimmati Deepika Reddy (Jangaon) have the support of Jangaon MLA Muthireddy Yadagiri Reddy.

On the other hand, a woman would be the first ZP chief of Mahabubabad which is reserved for ST Women. The TRS leadership is learnt to have verifying the names of Guguoth Sucharitha (Gudur ZPTC) and Angoth Bindu (Bayyaram ZPTC), a close relative of MLC Satyavthi Rathod.

It's said in the local political circle that ZP chief post is likely to be allotted to the candidate of Mahabubabad as TRS leadership had already given prominence to Dornakal region by sending Maloth Kavitha and Satyavathi Rathod to Lok Sabha and State Legislative Council respectively.

There is little contest for the Mulugu and jayashankar-Bhupalpally ZP chief posts, it seems. Eturnagaram ZPTC-elect Kusuma Jagadish appears to be the most probable candidate to clinch Mulugu ZP chairperson post. On the other hand, Jakku Sriharshini, Kataram ZPTC-elect, being the only SC woman candidate to win from Jayashankar-Bhupalpally district, her elevation to the ZP chief post appears to be inevitable.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories