Triangular fight between old horses in new circumstances

Triangular fight between old horses in new circumstances
As part of LS election campaign, Congress Lok Sabha candidate Ponnam Prabhakar urging the walkers to cast their votes to him at Ambedkar Stadium in Karimnagar in the early hours of Sunday

It’s apparent that there is a triangular fight between Boinpalli Vinod Kumar (TRS), Bandi Sanjay Kumar (BJP) and Ponnam Prabhakar (Congress) for Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency in the coming elections.

Karimnagar: It's apparent that there is a triangular fight between Boinpalli Vinod Kumar (TRS), Bandi Sanjay Kumar (BJP) and Ponnam Prabhakar (Congress) for Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency in the coming elections.

LS elections are not new to P Prabhakar and B Vinod Kumar, who had contested in the previous LS elections on two occasions from Karimnagar constituency. But for Bandi Sanjay Kumar, it is his maiden battle in the place of Chennamaneni Vidya Sagar, who contested in the previous elections.

P Prabhakar from Congress, Sanjay Kumar from BJP and Gangula Kamalakar from TRS fought in the December Assembly elections and Kamalakar came victorious.

The Karimnagar people are in a way accustomed to see the same old contestants – Ponnam, Bandi and Vinod, barring Gangula – competing in the LS elections and reportedly uninterested in poll campaigning.

Prabhakar had won the 2009 LS elections from Karimnagar against B Vinod Kumar and in the previous LS elections, Vinod Kumar won against Ponnam Prabhakar.

Ponnam Prabhakar, who has been contesting in the Lok Sabha elections since the last two polls, has unexpectedly entered the Assembly poll battle last year and got defeated by TRS candidate Gangula Kamalakar. Prabhakar, who won in 2009 LS elections, stood second in position in the previous elections and strangely dropped to third position in the December Assembly elections.

Boinapalli Vinod Kumar, who lost 2009 LS elections in the hands of Ponnam Prabhakar, had won in the previous elections. This is for the third time that Ponnam and Boinapalli are facing each other in LS elections as opponents.

Whereas Bandi Sanjay Kumar of BJP, who gained popularity in the recent times, is contesting in the LS election for the first time.

Political Journey

B Vinod Kumar, born in July, 1959, started his political career from AISF, a student organisation, and later worked at various positions in CPI of Warangal district. In 2001, he left CPI and joined TRS and has been with KCR since then and played a key role in separate Telangana movement.

In 2004 general elections, he won as Hanamkonda MP on TRS ticket and also in the by-elections held in 2008 from the same constituency. He entered into Karimnagar politics in 2009 LS elections and was defeated by Ponnam Prabhakar. Later, he won from Karimnagar parliament segment in 2014 elections. At present he is the sitting MP of Karimnagar.

Ponnam Prabhakar, born in May 1967, started his political career as a student union leader and was NSUI State president from 1992-98 and also rendered services as AP Markfed chairman from 2005 to 2009.

In 2009 he contested from Karimnagar LS seat, when YS Rajashekara Reddy wave was prevailing in the united Andhra Pradesh and was elected as MP. He was elected as the Convenor of AP MP's forum.

But he was defeated by B Vinod Kumar in 2014 LS elections and at present he is the working president of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC).

Bandi Sanjay Kumar, born in July 1971, was the youngest of the three contestants, started his political career as RSS activist and later rendered services at different levels in BJYM and had been a national member. He also worked as BJP in-charge of Kerala and Tamil Nadu States.

He was a three-time corporator from 47th division. He contested in 2014 and 2018 Assembly elections and gave tough fight to his opponents, standing in second position on both occasions. At present he is BJP official spokesperson.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories