TRS sweeps Parishad polls in Kothagudem

TRS sweeps Parishad polls in KothagudemKothagudem MLA Vanama Venkateswara Rao celebrating the TRS victory in Parishad polls with party workers on Tuesday

Out of 21 ZPTC seats in the district, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has won 16 seats with good majority.

Kothagudem: Out of 21 ZPTC seats in the district, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has won 16 seats with good majority. While the Congress and New Democracy could get single digit seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party, which was buoyed by the MP results recently, failed to open its account.

While the Congress party could win three ZPTC seats and New Democracy one, the Independents could bag one seat here in around the district. For the first time, the Laxmidevipally ZPTC seat was won by an independent candidate with a good majority. The New Democracy once again proved its strength in Gundala mandal by winning the seat.

While the TRS won the seats of Allapally, Annapureddypally, Palvoncha, Pinapaka, Karakagudem, Aswapuram, Tekulapally, Chunchupally, Sujatha Nagar, Dummagudem, Aswaraopet, Burgumpahad, Manuguru, Yellandu, Julurpad and Dhammapet, the Congress emerged victorious in Charla, Chandrugonda and Mulkalapally.

The TRS party candidate and former MLA of Yellandu consistency Koram Kanakaiah won the Tekulapally ZPTC seat with a majority of 5,081 votes against his Congress rival B Dhal Singh. Similarly, Payam Prameela, wife of Pinapaka former MLA Payam Venkateswarlu won the Manuguru ZPTC seat. Both the candidates are aspiring for the ZP chairman post in the district. Meanwhile, in Yellandu, Pinapaka and Kothagudem, whose MLAs have defected to the ruling TRS, a majority of ZPTC seats were won by the TRS party. In Bhadrachalam, the Congress was able to win only one seat. Congress MLA Podem Veeraiah represents the Bhadrachalam constituency.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories